We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeling Continues, but no big deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
688 reviews
313 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Remodeling Continues, but no big deal”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

They are remodeling the place floor by floor, so it is really no big deal. However, if you get one of the new rooms, they are great. Fast service here, free parking. Good choise.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    320
    127
    53
    31
See reviews for
277
227
55
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed here for business on my own tab. Nice and clean. Convenient parking and made to order breakfast. People were friendly.
Rooms were clean, but as others have noted, a little dated carpet and couches but still clean. The bathrooms seem to have been updated with turned marble floor and counter. Clean grouting and caulking. Large LCD TVs in living room and bedroom.
A little walk to get to the church. I would say 5-6 long NYC blocks.

This is ance place to bring your family, especially if you have children. They can run around in the breakfast areas while you eat end still see them and the suites are great for kids.

Renovations are unobtrusive.

This is a 4 star hotel. The value is unbeatable if you need a suite and plan to bring a family. If you are on a company stay and price is no limit, then Grand America is your 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Our week long stay was so relaxing! The hotel staff went above and beyond to address our requests. The daily manager's reception was a great way to socialize and catch a quick snack. Breakfast...you couldn't ask for more! Everything was delicious! We will definitely be staying at this Embassy Suites for our annual trips to SLC.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmonkey8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Stayed at the Embassy Suites for two nights. It is located in the heart of Salt Lake City and within walking distance of the fabulous Mormon Temple and its adjoining complex of historic buildings. The hotel was undergoing renovation which distracted from the comfort of being within such a spacious and beautiful hotel. Workmen were everywhere within the interior during the day. Parking was within a multi-level garage adjoining the hotel. Carrying luggage in and out of the hotel was somewhat difficult due to the distance. The breakfast served each morning was good and just what you would expect from the Embassy Suites. The evening reception offered both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. Popcorn and potatoe chips were the only snacks offered to enjoy with our beverages. Having stayed at many other Embassy Suites we were used to a wider selection. Alcoholic drinks could not be taken to our room. This was inconvenient because we ordered dinners from the hotel restaurant and had them delivered to our room. We would have enjoyed our drinks in our room with our delicious dinners.

Room Tip: Select a room at the top overlooking the city and not the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our family really enjoyed our stay at the Embassy Suites in downtown Salt Lake City. The hotel is quite large, especially compared to The Hyatt Place down the road. Also, the rooms are much more comfortable and spacious. When you walk into the lobby, you will greeted by a beautiful atrium and glass elevators. In the center of the atrium you will find the restaurant seating area where a large screen TV plays the news or sports for the sitting guest to watch. This is where you come every morning to get treated to the main event... the morning giant breakfast buffet. In fact, this is one of the very best breakfast buffets that I have found in any hotel, that is, a buffet that is included with your hotel cost. There is even a breakfast cook that will prepare special requests and omelets for you. This great breakfast event was the only way I could get my kids to wake up extra early every morning, since they wanted to beat the morning rush to the buffet line. Now, when we stay at other hotels, my entire family complains to me about how they miss the Embassy Suite breakfast buffet. We do pay a bit more when we stay here, but the comfortable rooms and that fantastic breakfast buffet more than makes up for it.

Room Tip: If your room is on the fourth or fifth floor, you can get much quicker access to it by parking your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed here one night for business. The 8th and 9th floors were closed for renovations and the entryway to the front desk was getting new tile but everything else was good. The rooms are somewhat dated (hence the renovations) and the location is near downtown and walking distance to nice dining options. Enjoyed the managers reception and the free breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlsimp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed at Embassy Suites for 3 nights and the entire lobby floor was trashed and under construction. The entire first floor was pretty much unusable. I asked about getting a better rate due to the noise and the poor condition of the hotel. I was told I already had a low rate. Reality is that the rate I received was exactly the same as it would have been any other time of the year with the no construction going on. Hotel is beat up and badly in need of a revamp. Popcorn ceilings remain in the rooms, kitchen staff that doesn't know how to make good coffee, and broken juice machines. Free parking is about all I appreciated at this place.

Room Tip: Stay at the Marriot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrainSnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Address: 110 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2701 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Salt Lake City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#9 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin your stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City with a warm welcome, at this inviting hotel. We will even greet you with our delicious warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. Ideally located in Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah, our full-service hotel is only seven miles from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC) and nearby many Salt Lake City attractions. Visit the Historic Temple Square or wander around the fascinating Family History Library. We are also situated nearby a Salt Lake City TRAX Station, providing easy transportation to many attractions.Choose from a delightful range of suites within this Salt Lake City hotel. Each of our stylish suites feature modern decor and are rich in comforts. Enjoy modern amenities such as LCD TVs and wireless internet access. Stay active and work out in the fitness center or swim laps in the heated indoor swimming pool.Choose from tempting menu creations in the hotels inviting on-site dining venue, Stephen's American Bistro Restaurant. Enjoy freshly prepared favorites ranging from colorful salads to tasty steak and chips. The hotel bar also offers a relaxing spot to unwind at the end of a busy day.Host an important meeting or special event at this downtown Salt Lake City hotel with a range of flexible meeting rooms. With 6,000sq.Ft of flexible meeting and banquet space, including the latest AV equipment, our professional staff can organize any event. Corporate guests will also appreciate our 24-hour business center with wireless internet, printing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Embassy Suites
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing