We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for any thing more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Converse
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for any thing more”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I had no complaints about the stay and I have stayed at some pretty fancy hotels over the years but am retired now on a lower budget. This hotel had a great breakfast-they'll cook eggs any way you like them. The Liquor served at the Manger's Reception wasn't Jack Daniels and Chivas Regal but was certainly good. I don't know how these folks paid $200 a night-did they walk in off the street and book? We paid somewhere around $100+ Tax. Internet was adequate and Jeff behind the desk was great. We were even there during Spring Break which I won't do again due to the noise between rooms others have talked about. Bur for the price, it can't be beat and we'll be there again in November. I will review that stay later.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yalehaus-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    324
    127
    54
    33
See reviews for
284
233
57
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
343 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The rooms (suites) are very dated, think the 1980s. They are spacious, however, and clean. I don't know about all of the rooms, but my 7th floor room had an excellent view of the surrounding mountains.
There is a hotel restaurant and bar that are surprisingly good. The breakfast buffet is excellent; made to order eggs, omelets, pancakes, french toast, sausage, bacon, etc. There is also a good bar menu with reasonable prices and a more elaborate dinner menu. The bar tenders are attentive. My only complaint about the bar is that during my stay, the draft beer taps froze, so after the first night, I wasn't able to get the excellent local ale the offer. There is also a 'manager's cocktail hour,' well drinks and Coors Light draft and popcorn and chips.
The location is good, it's located about 1/2 mile from the tabernacle campus. It does require a walk of a few blocks to get to the trolley though.
The hotel's website said they were going to start renovations to the hotel in July, but the whole time I stayed there, in late June, there was equipment in the main lobby and the area was sealed off. There was plastic from the ground floor to the roof (9th floor) sealing off the inside, open lobby.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OcalaTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We have stayed at Embassy Suites every January for our family's yearly ski trip for about 6 years. The rooms are very clean, quiet, and excellent for a family, even with our adult kids. Their free Manager's nightly Cocktail Reception in the Atrium is something we always look forward to after coming off the mountain with it being so comfy and cozy. They have a nice assortment of draft beer, wines, and liquor, along with popcorn and chips. Their Staff is top notch.

Breakfast every morning is pretty much full service with eggs, pancakes, etc., made to order, along with almost everything imaginable for breakfast. The wait in line is never more than about 5 minutes and finding a table is always easy.

It is close to restaurants on State Street and Trolley Square and has easy access on and off the Freeway and Expressway. We normally ski at Solitude and Brighton and it takes us approximately 30 minutes to get to the lifts, depending upon weather and traffic. The Staff will gladly help you store your skiis, etc. in a secure area each night at no charge and will make recommendations for dinner at night (they'll even take you to and from if you want to drink and not drive). There are also places, which the Staff can suggest, who deliver food directly to the atrium so that you can eat and drink without going out if you're tired.

There is a nice ski shop next door to the Hotel with a huge assortment of ski items and clothes, along with discount ski tickets to all of the resorts.

We will never stay any place else, nor do I ever look for any other place to stay. This place just keeps getting better and better as far as we are concerned. Great Job Embassy Suites!

Room Tip: Mountain View Rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

E.S. Downtown SLC is perfect for business travelers. Convenient to both commercial and government offices. Rate is much better than other hotels around the area.

Managers Social is exceptional with good selection of beer, wine, or spirits. Snacks are provided.

Restaurant needs update, but food is good as I had breakfast and chef is knowledgeable about specific diet needs or wants (low butter omelet.)

Room was top floor corner and faced 600 South. I thought it might be noisy with the rain on street, however was far above to minimize noise. Lower floor may not have same experience.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorider11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stay often for weekend getaways and they never disapoint us.

Take advantage of the Plum Restaraunt. fair prices and good food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveweese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Helena, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed at SLC Embassy on a return trip from the Carribbean. Our flight arrived after midnight. I called the hotel about 30 minutes before boarding our plane in Atlanta, explained our schedule. It was too late to have dinner anywhere, so their manager and the chef created dinner for us, and had it waiting in our refrigerator when we arrived at one am. They were SO accomodating. The made to order breakfast was very good, and was a good start to our final leg of our trip. This is my third visit to an Embassy Suite, and I can say we are convinced they are our hotel of choice when travelling. between the comfortable rooms, the managers reception and the breakfast as well as great service. They have my vote.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSPMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitvale,BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Breakfast is great! I love the spacious rooms, I've always found great service here. In addition, the shuttle will take you to your business meetings or seminars if you ask. I feel pampered here and I like it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soon2Bsunburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Address: 110 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2701 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Salt Lake City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#9 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin your stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City with a warm welcome, at this inviting hotel. We will even greet you with our delicious warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. Ideally located in Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah, our full-service hotel is only seven miles from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC) and nearby many Salt Lake City attractions. Visit the Historic Temple Square or wander around the fascinating Family History Library. We are also situated nearby a Salt Lake City TRAX Station, providing easy transportation to many attractions.Choose from a delightful range of suites within this Salt Lake City hotel. Each of our stylish suites feature modern decor and are rich in comforts. Enjoy modern amenities such as LCD TVs and wireless internet access. Stay active and work out in the fitness center or swim laps in the heated indoor swimming pool.Choose from tempting menu creations in the hotels inviting on-site dining venue, Stephen's American Bistro Restaurant. Enjoy freshly prepared favorites ranging from colorful salads to tasty steak and chips. The hotel bar also offers a relaxing spot to unwind at the end of a busy day.Host an important meeting or special event at this downtown Salt Lake City hotel with a range of flexible meeting rooms. With 6,000sq.Ft of flexible meeting and banquet space, including the latest AV equipment, our professional staff can organize any event. Corporate guests will also appreciate our 24-hour business center with wireless internet, printing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Embassy Suites
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing