We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #65 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Cedar City, Utah, United States
1 review
“Better than expected”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

over all this place is affordable and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleinmanaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Mr. Kleinman,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to give feedback about your stay at the Econolodge. I can't tell you how much it means to my self, my staff, and Choice Hotels Worldwide that loyal guests such as your self take a moment to express their experience about our property. It's a great joy to hear that your trip was a success and the staff helped you promptly and efficiently. Lastly, we hope that you will stay again the next time you're planning a trip to Salt Lake City Utah because I will personally secure your reservation for you at the Best Guaranteed Rate. It's our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

-Adam Mitchell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    39
    25
    80
See reviews for
44
33
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

First of all, I was greeted with smiles and 3 very courteous office help. Steve checked me in, Adam the manager gave me his best rate possible and a another gentleman asked me how my day was and all that other stuff! This is way to customer satisfaction. Being in the service industry myself, I would'nt expect anything less from my employees!!! The room was excellent, quiet and very clean.
There are many Econo Lodges across the United States and this one by far is one of the best!
Go Team!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesfmagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Spent one night there. Asked for a non-smoking room but the odor was so strong in practically made my eyes water. There must have been a plumbing junction for the whole place in the wall because it made a very loud noise all night. Although it did cover up the loud AC unit in the window! Stay there only if you can sleep through anything.

Room Tip: Go in listen and turn on the AC before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brighamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at the Econo Lodge because of it's proximity to the Salt Palace. It is very conveniently located - about a 10-15 minute walk. The price was very good for the closeness to the venue. The breakfast was totally adequate, although the dining area was a little tight. I'm sure the hotel was sold out due to a large trade show, so most days that might not be a problem. We will definitely stay there again. It's a very basic accomodation, but if you are just using it for a place to sleep, it is fine. I will be staying there again for my next show. The room was clean and staff was nice. The Red (or maybe Blue) Iguana mexican restaurant is right across the street and has decent food - it's always a sure bet for an easy to get to dinner!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurashiki, Japan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Fairly large rooms, very clean, free self-serve breakfast in tiny room near front office.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maneki-neko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed only overnight between train and plane - excellent welcome from the night desk staff, really clean room, great bathroom with a good hot shower, very comfortable large bed. Basic help yourself continental breakfast included. Free transport to the airport available hourly which was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicmum4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Went to Utah for a Jazz game on a budget. You do get what you pay for. A no frills stay place to rest your head. The price was very reasonable and was about a 10 minute walk to Energy Solutions to see the game. Clean, pleasant staff, and free breakfast were a plus. The minus, very noisy refrigerator that we unplugged, heater worked but was hard to control, and there is no hair dryer in the room. In the freezing cold, who wants to have wet hair? I always assumed it was something in every hotel. Nope, not this one! I looked and it wasn't listed as an amenity. Would have been nice to have one only because having wet hair in the middle of a freezing cold winter is not good! I would stay there again because of the value, but the fact they don't offer a hair dryer that was necessary in the freezing weather was annoying.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syntheticsweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.4 mi away
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temple
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temp...
#58 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Salt Lake City
Quality Inn & Suites Salt Lake C...
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
6.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Murray/Salt Lake City
Baymont Inn & Suites Murray/Salt...
#61 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Salt Lake City
Ramada Salt Lake City
#52 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt L...
#29 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 715 W North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84116-3351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing