We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've stayed here a dozen times or so for semi-annual trade shows and it's always a great, clean, well run place to stay. Rooms are nice. WiFi varied depending on room location. Some rooms are good and others had slow speeds. The toilet and tub/shower is separate, but the bathroom sink is not, so if you're sharing a room with someone who gets up before you...be prepared to have a light turned on and listen to the water running and everything that they do to get ready. Not the best set up in my opinion, but the room was nice. Most rooms have a small fridge, microwave, coffee, hair dryer and all the rest of the basic amenities.

Weight room is small, but adequate for a quick workout on the road. The indoor pool and hot tub are nice. There is a hot sauna to sit and warm up in after a swim. There's a full breakfast which isn't too bad as far as continental breakfasts go. There's also a small shop to buy snacks and items you may have forgotten.

Room Tip: 10 to 15 minute walk to the convention center. Also walking distance to some very good restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 988 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a fabulous experience ! We booked through an on-line site and thought the room would be "so so" for the price. We were so surprised when we arrived at the hotel. The staff was fabulous, we checked in in about 2 minutes, when we opened the door to the room we were amazed at the size of the room and the amenities. For the price it was a great, great valuel! The room was as nice as some 5-star hotels we have stayed in (and we are frequent travelers), very clean and well decorated and up to date. The room was very large, two queen beds, a sofa, coffee table and end table, small table you could use as a desk or to eat at. Refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen TV, free internet. There was plenty of room to get our suitcases out of the way since there were four of us in the room. The pool was open late, which our grand children loved. The Crystal Inn is so convenient to everything in Salt Lake City, within walking distance to the Trax station and many, many restaurants and fast food eateries, as well as the I-15. We didn't use the shuttle but they do have one, and we noticed many people using it. Breakfast was great everyday, and much more than anything we have experienced as any other hotel that offers a free breakfast. The entrees changed daily and there was always 4-5 choices of fresh fruit. I was happy to have access to computers any time (they have a bank of 4) and a free paper daily. Our daughter and her family as well as friends stayed at the same time we did and commented about how happy they were with the hotel and rooms. I usually stay in another hotel when in Salt Lake City but I will definitely be staying at Crystal Inn when in town again. I did notice a review that was negative but we didn't experience anything like that.

Room Tip: Our room was on the west side, it was quiet, there aren't any rooms with "a view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I spend a fair amount of time in Salt Lake these days as my son is in college there. The Crystal Inn is much more affordable than other nearby options, and I think the service and breakfast food selection is stellar. Easy location to get to and they are centrally located to a lot of activities.

I'll return to this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank massiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Nice clean rooms, very helpful staff, warm breakfast included, pool, spa, sauna, parking, adjacent to Wendy's and Denny's and McDonalds, easy freeway access, on-site laundry, elevators, mini market, meeting rooms, Interior corridors, quiet. Daily paper in lobby. Airport shuttle and it goes to Family History Library as well. Desk is 24 hours. Ample parking. Near bus route. Mexican restaurant across the street and down the block. Issue is that transients use the parking lot as beggar central, we have been panhandled maybe 30 times in 8 days. Not the hotel's fault, but an annoyance. They allegedly have a patrol officer, but he/she was never there when the panhandlers were. Well lit and everything, felt safe, but harassed. To be fair we were hit numerous times at the Family History Library also, so begging may be plaguing Salt Lake.

Room Tip: Long hallways, I am disabled so I asked for 1st floor. Bathroom was great and room was great. A/C wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed here in mid-November 2013. The heater did not work because the filters were so clogged the air was not getting through, removed filters, heater worked great! Found a pair of dirty mens socks on the floor of room and could tell floor had definitely not been vacuumed. One of the sinks was visibly dirty as well. The microwave did not work and the hairdryer barely worked because it was also in need of a screen cleaning. The hot tub was nowhere near hot, it was barely warm, seriously, it was just barely warmer than body temp. The general look and feel of this hotel isn't bad, but it is clearly not well cleaned or maintained. I WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN.
The one thing it does have is a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Found this using TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. This property may not be brand new but it has been updated and remains very well maintained & very well managed. Turns out that it was far better than the conference I attended at a nearby hotel where they complained about many things. The free hot breakfast beats most chain hotels that offer something similar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007TravelDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a very reasonably priced night away for our anniversary. The room was better than expected! Very Clean, quiet are and the hot tub was great. The location in central to a lot of fun things in Salt Lake. I Cannot believe it was as cheap as it was. I've paid a lot more for dated, dirty rooms elsewhere. I will definitely be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacMillHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 230 W 500 S, I-15 Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $98 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Inn Hotel And Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Salt Lake City
Crystal Hotel Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Downtown Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing