We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

First visit to Salt Lake City for ski vacation. After 3 days in Park city we relocated to Salt Lake City to ski Ulta/Snowbird area. This hotel was in a perfect local to enjoy the downtown area plus have easy access to ski resorts. The breakfast was more than great, rooms were spacious, staff were friendly and overall enjoyed stay very much.Stay included discount lift tickets and airport shuttle. We had a rent a car but shuttle service to ski resorts was available.

Room Tip: First floor rooms very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 214johnling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    282
    78
    17
    15
See reviews for
167
222
42
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirtland, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Room was clean and roomy but doors and other things need updating. The second TV cable never worked we just had static on the screen. The wifi was soooooo slow. It took forever to do anything on an iPad. The breakfast was fantastic though. There was French toast, quiche, scrambled eggs, sausage, cold and hot cereals, juices, Danishes, fresh fruit, milk, toast, bagels, etc. fantastic breakfast.

Room Tip: I heard you can upgrade your room to one with a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N Dianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've stayed there three times. Each time the room has been clean, well organized, everything worked. My room was large, comfortable, well-lit and Wi-Fi was free.
The Crystal Inn offers one of the best free hotel breakfasts I've had. Everything is always fresh, and plenty of it. It includes scrambled eggs and potatoes, as well as a good variety of other fare.
The lobby has a well-stocked mini-store where you can get munchies, fruit, fruit juice, toilet articles and other items to make your stay comfortable. The staff is always friendly and helpful.
It's next door to the McDonald's, which makes it easy to find. I'm not a fan of McDonald's, but having it available for a late-night run is handy.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms, in my experience. You may wish to get a room on the 3rd floor to avoid n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmerlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel for five nights to attend a conference at the Salt Palace Convention Center. We decided on at this hotel because we had stayed at another Crystal Inn in another part of the city a number of times and found it to be a good value. The rooms were large, comfortable, clean and the bed was average in comfort. They have a satisfactory breakfast buffet and the front desk staff were always accommodating and helpful.

However, there were also some issues. The first room we had was a king size suite and it was very comfortable, but the only window in the room looked into another wall versus the outside. I personally did not like that, so we were switched to a room with two double beds. Apparently most of their king suites are in the part of the building that has the same window arrangement. In the first room, the air conditioning ran all of the time and it was not disturbing. However, in the second room the air conditioning turned off and on so loudly that it woke me up throughout the night. Fortunately, the temperature dropped and we were able to turn off the unit and open a window to maintain a comfortable temperature. I would probably not stay at this hotel again, but I would return to the one we have used in the past near the ski resorts.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by looking into a wall, you will want to ask them about that when you are bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank co_rich_car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is fine. It is centrally located (more or less) with a couple good brew pubs within a short walk. The free breakfast is better than most. The rooms are generally quiet, but the air and bathroom fan are very load. We stayed for several nights and they were poor at replacing towels. Twice, the took the old ones but did not leave fresh ones to replace them??
Most frustrating, the wifi is incredibly slow. It is so frustrating that we will likely not return. Improve your wifi Crystal Inn!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorPaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Would recommend the Crystal in for business and family. Clean hotel, great location and good value. Easy to get in an out and everything you need for business and personal travel. Stayed in Jacuzzi room 1st floor and would recommend the upgrade. Internet worked well and in central SLC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a fairly nice stay here, but there were a few problems. Our first night had us in a room with a rattling air conditioner that made sleep difficult. We were moved to a jacuzzi suite (which we didn't use. Who uses a jacuzzi that's right next to your bed?) Our neighbor, however, used his jacuzzi - at 1:00 AM! - whose sound came through loud and clear into our room.
The room was spacious and clean, the front desk service was good, and the breakfast buffet was first-rate (but prepare to stand in line unless you come early).
The traffic on 400 South can be loud and this area of Salt Lake has a substantial homeless population (I met a number of them while walking the night our noisy air-conditioner prevented sleep.
Like most of these four-level hotels built quick and cheap in the early nineties, the Crystal Inn is not the most structurally substantial building. Try to get a top floor room in the back.

Room Tip: Get a top floor near the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mplsmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.8 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown

Property: Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Address: 230 W 500 S, I-15 Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2309
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Inn Hotel And Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Salt Lake City
Crystal Hotel Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Downtown Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing