We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is fine. It is centrally located (more or less) with a couple good brew pubs within a short walk. The free breakfast is better than most. The rooms are generally quiet, but the air and bathroom fan are very load. We stayed for several nights and they were poor at replacing towels. Twice, the took the old ones but did not leave fresh ones to replace them??
Most frustrating, the wifi is incredibly slow. It is so frustrating that we will likely not return. Improve your wifi Crystal Inn!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorPaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    349
    93
    20
    18
See reviews for
219
285
56
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Would recommend the Crystal in for business and family. Clean hotel, great location and good value. Easy to get in an out and everything you need for business and personal travel. Stayed in Jacuzzi room 1st floor and would recommend the upgrade. Internet worked well and in central SLC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a fairly nice stay here, but there were a few problems. Our first night had us in a room with a rattling air conditioner that made sleep difficult. We were moved to a jacuzzi suite (which we didn't use. Who uses a jacuzzi that's right next to your bed?) Our neighbor, however, used his jacuzzi - at 1:00 AM! - whose sound came through loud and clear into our room.
The room was spacious and clean, the front desk service was good, and the breakfast buffet was first-rate (but prepare to stand in line unless you come early).
The traffic on 400 South can be loud and this area of Salt Lake has a substantial homeless population (I met a number of them while walking the night our noisy air-conditioner prevented sleep.
Like most of these four-level hotels built quick and cheap in the early nineties, the Crystal Inn is not the most structurally substantial building. Try to get a top floor room in the back.

Room Tip: Get a top floor near the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mplsmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The rooms was good and clean. The buffet was nice for a decent breakfast. The location was in the close to everything. The mall, restaurants and rail station. Will stay there again if I was Salt Lake. The room were big for a basic room. It even had a refrigerator, and that was a plus for saving meals and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckaroo0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed in several hotels that are less expensive near the Family History Library and Salt Palace and this one surpasses the expensive places I avoid.
The softest sheets and lightest quilt I have ever found. I want them for my home. I don't hear my neighbors at night and sleep like a baby.
The rooms are huge with plenty of room for me to spread out, play with the stuff I get at convention, make cards, throw a party and get precious down time by myself. It is so inexpensive that I can afford a room by myself. I also love the breakfast choices (oatmeal and yogurt to french toast and bacon). And for those of us who don't have our own tablets, there are computers in the lobby.
Yes, it is a longish walk to everything, and I would not do it alone at night. Of course I have, many times and lived to tell the tale, but I don't recommend it.

Room Tip: Some of the king rooms are huge with a whole living room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are good and clean, the breakfast is a nice American breakfast with pancakes and bacon. But the hotel is a little far from the city center. The hotel in on the side of a big road but it's not disturbing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank debby40_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was the unsure hotel for us. Friend booked for us. Arrived Inn at 10PM. Room is better than we thought, pretty clean. The the breakfast was nice also.

It is close to airport. Also 5-10 minutes to several shopping/dinning places. We were able to find several restaurants that opened later to choose.

Recommended it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonMom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown

Property: Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Address: 230 West 500 South, I-15 Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84103
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Inn Hotel And Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Salt Lake City
Crystal Hotel Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Downtown Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing