We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a quaint place to stay....”
Review of Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salt Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For a quaint place to stay....”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We just spent 5 nights here, and enjoyed the hotel greatly. We were there for a family reunion, and wanted to stay close to all the activities and family. This place is very quaint, simple and understated. Different from many of the hotel chains I am used to staying in. It was clean, nicely appointed, and had a fridge and microwave, something we value when we are away from home. We never did make it to breakfast although I kept hearing about it the whole time we were there. It almost had a "homey" feel to it. What I found interesting, is that it is an old and small hotel, but it has been very well cared for. We will definitely go back next time we are in SLC. And when I got the bill, I was so surprised. It was a very reasonable place to stay!

Room Tip: We didn't choose which room we wanted, but it was nice and quiet where we were on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roch2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    63
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
40
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was the first place we stayed on planned trip to the National Parks in Utah. We were traveling with some dear friends from France. The first few days were spent touring the Temple Square in Salt Lake City. The rates are very reasonable and included a very nice breakfast. Everything was made fresh and to order. The staff were extremely courteous, and helpful. It is an establishment to be visited many times. It is particularly good for those genealogists who use the facilities in the Temple Square.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jak201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Carlton Hotel is located very close to the downtown core and the Salt Palace convention centre (a few minutes walk to either). While the rooms do show their age, they're a great value and very spacious. When you add in the breakfast, room fridges & microwaves, etc..., I'm amazed that they were as inexpensive as they were. Personally, the value and friendliness of the staff easily push this hotel into the "Excellent" category, though travellers wanting something more elaborate would be better off going elsewhere. Personally, I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Check to see if your oven is hooked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedstevens42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

So glad my friends and I stayed in this wonderful older hotel. Yes it is older and so the rooms are small - but it has character and charm. The suite we were in had two beds and the staff provided us with an additional rollaway - so plenty of room to visit and sleep the small amount of time we were in the room. The small kitchette had a microwave and refrigerator - and real plates and cups etc. for us to use. The bath was sufficient although the hot water was hard to come by - and they gave us lots and lots of towels. There were plenty of mirrors in other rooms so sharing the bathroom wasn't all that bad. The location is superb!!! Walking distance to shopping and food and beautiful buildings all around. The breakfast is included with the room and it is served in this small cafe that is downstairs - which is also open to the public - and you order off a menu. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one - including arranging the shuttle for us to go to our concert AND coming back when we called to pick us up. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room away from the street side - the traffic is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLynn737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Carlton is great for price, location, friendly staff and includes a hot breakfast cooked to order (huge servings!), free parking, free shuttle, and large rooms. All within a short walk of Temple Square. We plan to stay there any time we return to SLC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K2France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Meadows, Idaho
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Carlton. You can not beat the price in Salt Lake. Yes, it is old and the bathrooms in some of the rooms are quite small, but the location is perfect. A full breakfast off the menu in the small cafe is included. The new City Creek area is just a block away with shops, restaurants and a market. As a single traveler I have always felt safe and found it to be nice and quiet at night. A great place to stay while visiting the Family History Library and they have a shuttle service to and from the library.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Location, location, location - says it all - perfectly positioned to explore the city.
Very old building, but kept in good order.
Apartment style rooms with kitchenettes - larger than most hotel rooms.
Staff very knowledgable and willing to assist with information about the city and surrounds.
Great cooked to order breakfast was included in our room rate.
Carparking spaces available - limited locked up parking spaces in basement and additional parking in lot next door (unsecured).
Lifts a bit slow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndPancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.6 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#22 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#20 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#33 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 140 E South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-1186
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing