We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended.”
Review of Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salt Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great location for any person with reason to be in downtown SLC of course especially Temple Square and other LDS sites. Neighborhood is fine, not run down or bums bothering you on the street. The size of the very clean room I stayed in was modest about the same as a Comfort Inn but not the corporate sterility of the chain motels. The Carlton Hotel is with the last of the independents so spend your money there. Included cooked to order breakfast was great. Staff very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cm514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel is Nice and Clean but it is very basic. We stayed in the suite, rm 116. It was a king bed, tv, a little kitchenette with refrig and microwave and sink. The bathroom was little and you have to step up into the bathroom, but it was really clean. The people and everything was nice and simple. I do agree with others that it feels like a step back in time to an old ma and pa 1960's hotel with modern amenidities.
The location is great. A 1 1/2 blocks from the TRAX (light rail train) which is free in the downtown area. Close to Temple Square and Creek Center shopping plaza is 1/2 block away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodit_jodit_jodit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located near Temple Square, and within walking distance of many sites and the lovely gardens and grounds associated with the Temple. It is also close to public transportation. Because the hotel isn't part of a chain, it has character and the staff take personal interest in insuring a comfortable stay and in answering any questions that guests might have.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WyoGretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This hotel is a block or so from Temple Square, the City Creek shopping center, and the free public transportation. It's small and charming, and it has its own parking garage (for free). The breakfast, also included in the price, was a good breakfast of eggs, pancakes, waffles, breakfast meats, fruit, and so forth. The rooms were large and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blitzstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed at the Carlton in june 2010. We were very pleased with the friendly staff. The hotel is situated near Temple Square what was very interesting for us.
The rooms are not luxurious but clean and that's very important. Internet in the lobby. We enjoyed the typical American breakfast!
We certainly can recommend this hotel!
Willy Neys
Belgium

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utah1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Since the first time I've stayed at the Carlton, it has become my favorite place to stay when visiting Salt Lake City. They really take care of their guests by offering a family atmosphere. There are many great amenities for a small hotel. The breakfasts are also great! Portions are more than generous. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Tired of large chain hotels in the center of town? The Carlton Hotel is a simple, clean, family owned hotel that is very convient to the center of town and a few minutes walk to the Temple and Library. They offer free airport pick-up and parking. There is a cook to order breakfast of omlets or pancakes. Or you can help yourself to a continental breakfast. The room was more than adequate, can easily sleep 4. Microwave, coffee maker, cooktop, cups, plates, utensils, refrigerator, etc. Nice bath tub/shower combo. Two queen size beds, chairs, table, and t.v. Nothing fancy or new. Just a confortable, quiet,clean place to stay. At the end of the day, relax in their spa or sauna. There is even a small exercise room. All this for less than the chain hotels down the street. If you don't feel like going to a restaurant for meals, a very large gourmet market with excellent take out food just opened in Feb. 2012. It is just around the corner.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, or a suite. Pictures of room on hotel website.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#27 of 75 in Salt Lake City
675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#34 of 75 in Salt Lake City
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
806 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 140 E South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-1186
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $69 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing