We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the pie, stay for the food!”
Review of Left Fork Grill

Left Fork Grill
Ranked #146 of 1,390 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Emery, UT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go for the pie, stay for the food!”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I eat here whenever I visit SLC. They advertise "Where Cafe Meets Gourmet." I could not describe it any better. Jeff is the owner and you will see him talking with customers, helping get the food out etc. Oh, and serving pie! People line up for his pies around the holidays. Check out the daily special when you come in the door; I will usually know what I am ordering before I get to the table. They do a nice brunch and prime rib dinner, and also serve beer and wine. I would describe it as a local's cafe. It is a short walking distance from the 3900 South Trax station. I am fond of his hollandaise sauce on eggs and his Reubens. My wife likes the Tuna melt. It is off the beaten path, but well worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
salt lake city
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough.”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The chef goes out of his way to prepare and present the food a few notches up from your ordinary greasy spoon. It's really wonderful. Lately though the sevice has gone south. The waitresses actively ignore you when trying to get their attention. It's really annoying. New help is needed for this diamond in the rough. They have the best coffee and grind their own beans. I like my coffee refilled a lot when I go out for breakfast. Someone should be going around just tending to that, then it would be perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saphfirebluez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balt MD
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Honest good food”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Priced right, creative delicious pies, this place was listed inthe Salt Lake Magazine, tried it out and went back again while we were there. We had the breakfast specials and pie to take with us both days. Very good stuff

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Linda62410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore,CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfort food where you would least expect it”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

During a recent visit to Sale Lake, met a long-time friend for dinner at the Left Fork Grill. "Comfort food" is one of those terms that gets bandied about a lot anymore - but this place delivers the real deal. I had meatloaf and my friend had liver and onions. Portions were a good size - not huge, but satisfying. The meatloaf tasted a lot like what I make and my fried said her liver was perfectly cooked (not a liver lover myself - but hubby is and I know it's easy to cook it poorly). Both meals came with a heap of tasty mashed potatoes (could have used a little more gravy), and corn that tasted like it had been cut off the cob - very crisp and sweet. We ate most of our food and had room for a slice of pie baked on the premise. The waitress was friendly, service was prompt - but we never felt rushed. It was clear that some customers were repeaters - known by name to the wait staff. My only quibble - if you're going to offer up comfort food - ya gotta have macaroni and cheese.

The building that houses the restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside - or inside, for that matter - and it's not the neighborhood you'd expect to find a good restaurant in. But if I still lived in Salt Lake, it's a place I'd return to. They have a large breakfast menu and I'd like to check them out for breakfast sometime.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trippingtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pancakes and pie - oh my”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Great place. My one experience was breakfast on Sunday morning ad I sat at the counter. I was waited on quickly after I sat down and ordered the Blackberry pancake special (pancakes, 2 eggs, and bacon). Everything was cooked perfectly and the blackberry pancakes were outstanding. They were more the flapjack style than the cake style. I prefer flapjack and they were perfect.

I took a piece of blueberry pie for desert later. It was great. Nice flakey crust with a great thick blueberry filing. Yumm!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHCG-JEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Left Fork Grill also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
 
 

Been to Left Fork Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing