We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make it a real Perkins”

Perkins Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #670 of 1,394 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“make it a real Perkins”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I shouldn't have to pay for my food before I get it and the staff should speak English in the United States.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank redeyed40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    29
    67
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What? Counter service...”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Not what we are used to with Perkins. Had to order at the counter from a limited over priced menu. If I have to order from the counter like a fast food place then drop the prices to fast food prices.

Not pleased!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glasshut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is close to the hotel so we ate there.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It is close to several hotels and it is one of the few sit down restaurants in the area. The food is ok and the service was good. I often go into Salt Lake for dinner when in the area but this time we were tired and had an infant with us so we ate here instead.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheVMAN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A different approach”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Perkins because it was close by the Hampton Inn. Also we were familiar with the Perkins brand. Taken back when we walked in and found that you ordered at the counter and then took a seat. The food was very good and the person who brought it our was helpful. We were tired from driving all day and didn't was to travel to eat, so it worked well. Would recommend, just be ready to enjoy and unconventional meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rnkcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“This was different - unexpected - and left me wondering WHAT?”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The evening was near and the stomach was saying it's time to eat so when we determined there was a Perkins Restaurant nearby we decided that would be the place where we would eat. We walked in and was expecting to be escorted to a table where we could look at a menu and decide what was going to be the meal that evening but no!
You have to go up to a counter like a deli at an airport or something and order from a list of items on the wall then pay and take a number to the table.
The food wasn't anything to brag about and the service was no more than adequate but the whole experience just wasn't the normal "Perkins" kind of thing and we didn't much like it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BQmaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perkins Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Perkins Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing