We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but not original greek” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greek Souvlaki

Greek Souvlaki
Ranked #151 of 1,379 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $5 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Basel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not original greek”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We tried a gyros sandwich looking for a bit of greek flavor. The taste and the ingredients were not bad, but it is definitely far from reminding a greek gyros sandwich. The meat is more kebab like and the dressing more yoghurt then tzatziki. It is ok for a sandwich, but not ok if you are looking for greek taste.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PizzaWithFeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social Media M M, Public Relations Manager at Greek Souvlaki, responded to this review, March 7, 2016
PizzaWithFeta,

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your business and support. We have won best Gyro in Utah for many years. If that is not the taste your looking for please try our new restaurant Padeli's - in Downtown SLC. Where you can create your Gyro! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
419 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“still the best greek food in salt lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

It is refreshing to find that quality is being maintained at both salt lake and murray locations. Have eaten at both this trip. This is a must stop twice a year as we pass through town and for over 12 years we have never been disappointed. The red sauce on the gryos is a recipe from a little village in Greece and is delicious and we have only found it here. The tzitziki (white) sauce is offered as well. One reviewer trashed it as unauthentic for offering red sauce. To be ignorant of it's origin is forgivable. To trash them in your ignorance is inexcusable. Salt Lake overall has more greek restaurants than any other city I have found in the 50 states. This place has the best gyros and souvlaki we have found in Salt lake. Have had better soups and greek spaghetti than here but not gyros and souvlaki

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eremitic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social Media M M, Public Relations Manager at Greek Souvlaki, responded to this review, March 7, 2016
Eremitic,

Amazing! Thanks for your continued support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fast Food Greek”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I visited the location in West Valley. It was ok. Service was fast had the chicken souvlaki and lemon chicken soup. Both were good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social Media M M, Public Relations Manager at Greek Souvlaki, responded to this review, March 7, 2016
Ncfan,

Thanks for stopping by! Give our Gyro a try, it's award winning! We appreciate you leaving us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
217 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great airport restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was very glad to see this restaurant at the SLC airport. Greek food has always been one of my favorites, and because I travel through SLC at least 4 times per year, I am glad to see Greek Souvlaki has arrived. The chicken lemon soup and spinach pie are very good as well as the salad. One of these days I will even go as far as getting a dessert which looks delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social Media M M, Public Relations Manager at Greek Souvlaki, responded to this review, March 7, 2016
Laura,

Thank you for all your support! Great Review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Now I Get It.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place looks like kind of a dive, but I always see crowds of sophisticated-looking people going inside. I finally ate there this weekend when my boyfriend and I were out Christmas shopping. Their gyro rivals the Crown Burger gyro-so tasty. Next time I am trying the pasta with mizithra cheese and browned butter.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social Media M M, Public Relations Manager at Greek Souvlaki, responded to this review, March 7, 2016
Karianne,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate all your support. Also, we recently opened a new location in Lehi, Utah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Souvlaki also viewed

 

Been to Greek Souvlaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing