We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No so great Greek food...”
Review of Greek Souvlaki

Greek Souvlaki
Ranked #184 of 1,421 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The gyros are not that great. The meat was like cardboard the last time I ate there. The atmosphere is cold and the people who work there know nothing about Greek food. Trust me, if a worker in a Greek restaurant asks if you want 'white' or 'red' sauce on your gyro; they don't much about Greek food. Much better gyros and other Greek items can be found at Dasks or The Greek City Grill. These folks are Greeks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ioannisutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social Media M M, Public Relations Manager at Greek Souvlaki, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Ioannisutah,

We thank you for posting a review. Good or Bad we appreciate you voicing your opinion. We are disheartened to hear that you had a bad experience.

We recently opened a Street Greek restaurant, Please come visit us at Padeli's, located in downtown, SLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 68 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We hit this place fairly regularly when we come through Salt Lake City, and I've learned to appreciate the mapping ap on my smart phone when trying to find it. Lots of one-way streets in the neighborhood.

The gyros are good, the dolmades are good, the lemon chicken soup is good. I can't seem to get past those things on the menu, because I walk in with good intentions of trying something else and just keep going back to my favorites.

For some reason, today the tzatziki sauce didn't quite have the bite that it usually does, which is unfortunate. I hope they didn't change the recipe for good. That's the reason I dinged them on the overall rating, otherwise I would have given them a five.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mountaingirl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social Media M M, Public Relations Manager at Greek Souvlaki, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your continued support and sorry for the delayed review response. We opened another location in Lehi, Utah if your from that area. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We ate at the Greek Souviaki going and coming back from a trip to the Montana State Folk Festival. Both times we enjoyed the taste of the food and appreciated not having to get typical fast airport food. It is sandwiched between a mexican resturant and mcdonalds. Service was quick and the prices were reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fwbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social Media M M, Public Relations Manager at Greek Souvlaki, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Thanks for the review! Hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Utah does Greek food really well, and one of the best examples of this is the Greek Souvlaki. I consider their Gyro to be one of the best in the state and they also have a great variety of other dishes. I highly recommend their food and the restaurant is a classic "dive" in decor but only adds to the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kimball H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social Media M M, Public Relations Manager at Greek Souvlaki, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Thank you for your fantastic review. We recently opened another Greek Restaurant called Padeli's located in Downtown, SLC. Come visit us when you get hungry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The best place to get greek around. fast service even though place is always packed

Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Social Media M M, Public Relations Manager at Greek Souvlaki, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Thanks for your review, support and continued business. We recently opened a new Greek restaurant in downtown, Salt Lake City called, Padeli's. Come visit us when you get hungry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Souvlaki also viewed

 

Been to Greek Souvlaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing