We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saltair- we'll be visiting you again!”
Review of Inn on the Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on the Hill
Ranked #1 of 11 Salt Lake City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Saltair- we'll be visiting you again!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Saltair to celebrate our anniversary and we loved every minute. We've stayed in many B&B's over the years and this was one of the best experiences we've ever had and it was DEFINITELY the best breakfast, Yum. The building itself is gorgeous, lots to look around and admire from yesteryear but also beautifully restored. The room was spacious which has not always been our experience at B&B's. The bathtub was HUGE, loved it. The staff was friendly, the complimentaries were appreciated and it was a quiet cozy stay. Seriously can't think of anything bad to say and we'll be visiting again. The hard part will be trying to decide whether or not to try a new room or return to a room that was definitely a winner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    33
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
304
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in late September 2013 at the Inn on the Hill, a palatial bed and breakfast located half way up the hill between the State Capitol and Temple Square. Our room was on the second floor—quiet, beautifully-appointed, with spectacular views of the Temple Square. Breakfasts were superb and prepared to our individual needs (one vegetarian and one lactose-intolerant). The staff were gracious and helpful. This is an ideal location for exploring the Temple Square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cal_becker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our visit to SLC was just perfect thanks to the gracious hospitality we received from the Inn on the Hill staff. We were warmly greeted by Host Lisa on arrival. She was delightful, and escorted us to the Topaz Mountain suite on the top floor. We loved it. No view, but a cozy, well appointed accommodation with super comfortable king bed, spacious bath with jetted tub and walk in shower w/ rain forest shower head. Complimentary snacks were just outside the door. As we checked in, the complimentary fresh baked cookie selection was being displayed near the dining room. Yum! We played a couple of games of billiards, enjoyed some tea fireside in the living room before retiring. Breakfast the next morning was simply over the top. Chef Khaieai prepared chocolate éclairs and chocolate dipped strawberries as an appetizer, with a main course of blueberry oatmeal pancakes accompanied by eggs cooked to order, pork sausages and a fruit medley of pineapple, melon and grapes. Awesome presentation and so delicious. Chef is really talented. The Inn's Manager, Sarah Baker, was personally serving the breakfast and graciously engaging the guests. She is just the best. We loved our stay at the Inn and will be back! Recommended.

Room Tip: Each room has a unique personality. We have stayed in 5 of the 12 so far and enjoyed each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoDesperado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed in the Wasatch Mountain room overlooking the city. Amazing view and amazing room. Inn offers a great breakfast and free snacks. Can't wait to stay again.Central location for easy access to all parts of the city including Trolley square and city center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albatrosski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed only 1 night but could happily have stayed longer. We plan to return to Utah and will look here first if we fly into Salt Lake City.
The rooms are clean and very spacious. The building is excellently located , only a very short walk to Temple Square,

The Inn on the Hill provides more complementaries than anywhere I have ever stayed--- a fridge full of soft drinks and sweets, cookies, eclairs fruits and toiletries.

The breakfast was plentiful and tasty and the staff very pleasant and helpful

Room Tip: They are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Beautiful house to stay in. Superbly appointed rooms. Generous breakfast to a high standard. Home made cookies and fruit available along with other snacks and drinks. Very pleasant staff. I have already recommended this to friends.

Room Tip: Browse the web site as wide variety of room styles available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

A terrific b&b, centrally located and offered the best breakfast of our 2-week road trip across the western states.

We stayed in the Saltair room which is next to a busy road so was noisy at night and had no fridge. This was the only downside in an otherwise superb stay.

The staff were very helpful with local recommendations and directions and the breakfasts were amazing, especially the eggs Benedict. Facilities include a pool table, free parking, free non alcoholic drinks and free cookies. We would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Hill

Property: Inn on the Hill
Address: 225 N State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84103-4615 (Formerly Inn on Capitol Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A timeless masterpiece! The Inn on the Hill is Salt Lake City's premier Bed & Breakfast. Experience the Inns' quiet elegance with rooms that have been designed with your ultimate comfort in mind. Relax with down bedding, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and spectacular views! Surprise someone special today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On The Hill Hotel Salt Lake City
Inn On The Hill Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing