We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Better”
Review of Inn on the Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on the Hill
Ranked #1 of 12 Salt Lake City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I always try and stay in bed and breakfast. We love this house so we wanted to check it out. This home has a ton of potential and amazing history, the location is also great. The day we were to check it was a cool and wet. When we arrived we were not greeted by anyone we actually had to seek them out. Our room had a fireplace in it but the room was cold and the fireplace had not even be started to warm the place up. It was a very plain room not something that you would walk in and be wow'ed or even say "this is such a nice place. " It was like staying at a cheap hotel. (for more money) Breakfast was very average - the service was below average. Where you eat breakfast they have a fireplace, again it was not turned on to warm the place up or make it feel warm, another guest asked to turn it on. I would not stay here again for this price you have many other choices. This place needs to be owned by someone that has a passion for it and loves it, not someone who needs it for a tax write off.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UtahCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 481 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2008

This was a perfect setting for our 25th anniversary stay in Salt Lake City.

The Inn itself is a 1900's English revisionist manor style home with lots of wood panels and antique decor. Our room (named King's Peak) was comfortable, clean, and had a nice bathroom with a jetted tub. As would be expected with as period-style home, the building shows its age in a few spots.

The staff was helpful and professional. Overall, the Inn was very quiet, and we felt like we were the only guests. It was as if we had our very own Capital Hill mansion. The location was a perfect jumping off point for all of our downtown Salt Lake City activities.

The price was well under the three and four star hotels in town that we considered...and gave us what we think was a more memorable experience.

My wife and I are planning to go back every year.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

A beautiful mansion on the hill near the capital with views of the temple and mountains. Lots of wood and period decorations in this B&B. Sadly, we only stayed one evening as SLC was only a landing point to start our vacation of the national parks. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated - no compliants. Breakfast was plentiful and good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Ample parking parking by the house. Be sure to visit the sister mansion, that's a special treat for those who love old houses. We stayed in the Bryce room, a large room with a balcony overlooking the temple.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank cabriomini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2007

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was the perfect place. The staff was very kind and helpful. The room was very clean, private and enjoyable. From the Wasatch Mountain room that we stayed in there was a great view of downtown Salt Lake City. We both loved our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrstem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

I found this through tripadvisor and other investigations. Great location, 2 blocks south of the Capitol and the visitors' center. Two blocks north of the main downtown scene. The room was Snow Canyons. Large room with king-sized bed and great bathroom. The only problem was that it is under the billiard room. The first night a group a people were obviously having fun in the room, laughing and walking around, enjoying themselves and it was 11 PM. But there's always a manager staying overnight. The mgr that night came out of her room as she heard me heading up the stairs to ask the noisy people to quiet down. She asked them to be quieter and they stopped. You can't beat the location for driving around downtown. You can have a warm breakfast anytime after 8 AM or a cold one prior to that. Very enjoyable... and friendly managers.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed at Inn on the Hill for two nights as part of a three week road trip around the US. Overall we found the place to be comfortable, if a little odd.

Okay, firstly the good stuff:

The outside of the Inn is very impressive, ornately decorated and with stunning city views from the 2nd floor terrace that runs round the building, especially at night when the temple is lit up against the mountain backdrop.

The whole place felt really spacious...there's a communal area downstairs with books, magazines and boardgames etc, and another communal room next door to this with a full size pool table (free to use). We stayed in the Wasatch room on the second floor and thought it was a little small, but the bathroom was huge and there was direct access out onto the terrace facing the city.

Cooked breakfast was served in the dining room downstairs, at a time to suit us (had to specify a time for breakfast on a notepad the previous night, along with a request for cooked/continental), and unlike other B&Bs we stayed at, we were able to eat at our own table rather than communally. There were also complimentary snacks and drinks in fridges dotted around the building.

Okay, now for the slightly odd stuff:

When we arrived, it was about 6pm, but the daily maid service appeared to have only just started. There were piles of dirty sheets stacked up outside a few of the rooms, and the maid was running her hoover directly outside our room...looked like they were either short-staffed or had very slow maids.

Once inside the room, we found it hadn't really been cleaned for our arrival...there was a coating of dust on all the surfaces in the bathroom and bedroom, and we even found hairs round the sink and bath taps. I let the lady at the front desk know, and she was very apologetic and said she'd get right on it. We waited in the communal lobby and 30 minutes later she came back to say the maid had now cleaned the room. However, much to our disappointment the room still hadn't been dusted or vacuumed, althought the sink had been given a wipe down and the hairs had been removed. It was a similar story downstairs...a layer of dust over the pool table, and a couple of soda cans that were there when we arrived, and were still there when we got up the next morning.

Overall, a nice place to stay if they sort out the maid service and cleaning! Got the impression that business was slow for this place at the moment (possibly why they weren't too bothered about cleaning).

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Okie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2006

I really enoyed my stay here. I was at a conference and the Inn is within walking distance to the Salt Palace as well as Delta Center and Temple Square. The house is quiet, relaxing, and comfy, with several nice chairs in the living room area and a pool table. The only thing I'd change would be to have their ISP allow VPN, which they currenty block. If you don't know what VPN means then you have no worries, as otherwise the wireless network works fine. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BizTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 77 in Salt Lake City
1,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#10 of 77 in Salt Lake City
1,925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#17 of 77 in Salt Lake City
841 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Hill

Address: 225 N State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84103-4615 (Formerly Inn on Capitol Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $135 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A timeless masterpiece! The Inn on the Hill is Salt Lake City's premier Bed & Breakfast. Experience the Inns' quiet elegance with rooms that have been designed with your ultimate comfort in mind. Relax with down bedding, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and spectacular views! Surprise someone special today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On The Hill Hotel Salt Lake City
Inn On The Hill Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing