We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to start our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on the Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on the Hill
Ranked #1 of 11 Salt Lake City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spanish Fork, Utah
1 review
“A perfect place to start our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

The staff was kind and helpful all through the booking process and at our stay, and helped with finding information we needed prior to our stay. We stayed at the King's Peak, which is a fabulous room with a great atmosphere. Absolutely recommendable! We are already talking about going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMuch365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
293
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Well located, nice views. Feels more like a hotel than a b & b. Would have liked to have been offered assistance with baggage and shown to our room. Didn't really have the personal touches that I like to see at a B & B.
First night our room was very hot, a/c was not working and we were dismissed when we told them that our room was hot. It was only at breakfast the next day when I was asked how our night was, and I said hot, that they turned on the a/c to see it was not working. They did get someone in straight away to fix, so cool after that. Really need blockout blinds as the rooms are very light at night.
Room was spacious, clean and felt really good. A snack fridge is available for drinks and snacks anytime of the day.
I did ask for an iron and was given one but no ironing board so had to iron clothes on the floor!
Large bathroom and nice spa bath, very clean.
I would probably stay again but do bring an eyemask. We were on the quiet side of the building, I think the rooms to the busy road would be quite noisy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innonthehillslc, Manager at Inn on the Hill, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Inn on the Hill.

We sincerely apologize; as we clearly have failed to provide you with the level of service we pride ourselves in. As a team, we feel equally responsible for this and want to ensure you that we have taken the necessary steps to focus on those areas we seem to have fallen short on during your visit.

I kindly ask that you contact me personally at (801) 328-1466 or at sarah@innonthehillslc if you wish to discuss your stay in greater detail or when your travels next bring you to Salt Lake City. It would be my pleasure to personally see to the details of your next visit.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to Inn on the Hill in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

This was within walking distance of all downtown activities. The inn keepers were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. The King's Peak is the largest of the rooms and it has a wonderful sitting area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneandJoetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Great location but the car park is a bit tricky if you have a big car! Beautiful building, very warm welcome and great breakfast just what we needed from a stop over Inn at the end of our holiday. Something more than just a room and conveninet to walk to the Temple and Tabernacle. We would not stay in the same room another time as it is under the billard room and was noisy, luckily the game didn't go on too late otherwise we would have complained. No hairdryer in room but one was soon supplied when requested.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyNorwich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on vacation, and we loved it! I wish we would have been able to stay another night, but our travel plans did not allow it. The house is totally charming and very well-decorated. There are some nice amenities - a pool room, very comfortable sitting rooms with games to play (we played Trivial Pursuit) and many different magazines to read. There were also DVDs to borrow and play on the in-room player, but we did not have time to watch one. There was a snack closet next door to our room with water bottles, soda, and some packaged snacks (chips, granola bars, fruit snacks, etc.)

We stayed in the Snow Canyons room, which was lovely. The room was beautiful, everything was clean, and the bed was quite comfortable. The over-sized bathtub was great and had jacuzzi jets. The room had blackout curtains that darkened the room for a great night's sleep. We were on the "ground floor" but the room is on a hill (aptly named), and there is a porch too, so we never felt like someone was going to walk outside our window or anything..

Our "hostess" was great - she provided dinner recommendations for us and gave us a great tour of the place when we arrived. She said she would be available all night, although we never needed anything, and then the next morning she cooked us a delicious breakfast. We had eggs, toast, bacon, sausage, fruit, plus juice, coffee, tea. There is also a continental breakfast spread that had oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, etc., but we were too full for that!

Finally, a word on location - can't beat it! We were about a block away from the Capitol building - quite close. We drove there to look around because my husband had a sprained ankle, otherwise, we would have been able to walk (a bit hilly though). Temple Square was just a short drive (2 minutes) in the other direction - also would be walkable if you're looking for a lengthier walk.

We would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat if we ever find ourselves in SLC again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyStarr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innonthehillslc, Manager at Inn on the Hill, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thanks for the terrific review! We really enjoyed having you two stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! Best wishes, Inn on the Hill Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

I came to SLC with my husband for a conference, but stayed at the Inn on the Hill after reading good reviews about it. The positive reviews were all correct, and we ended up LOVING the place! The staff was extremely friendly and polite, and even up graded our room for free to a beautiful suite! They served us delicious breakfasts and were very kind and helpful! Plus, the B&B is in a great location so it was really ideal to go to/from the conference venue. WOULD DEFINITELY recommend again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

As soon as we checked in, Sharon upgraded our room without us even asking! what a beautiful place this is!! Our room was on the 2nd floor and had a balcony. What a view we had! Comfy bed, beautiful bathroom, nice size TV, gorgeous fireplace.....this was our first bed and breakfast and it was so wonderful and comfy!

We did not get to enjoy the morning breakfast so I cannot comment on that, but the dining room was gorgeous where it was to be served! Such beautiful furniture, stained glass, lamps throughout the Inn.

The only thing I need to comment on was, errrr....uuhhhh....the walls are 'a bit thin' I guess.....The first night no one was in the room next to us...the 2nd night a young couple was and we could hear them....errrrr...ya know....hear them! eeek!! But we laughed about it!! If this would bother you, go to their website and view the maps of where their rooms are...there are some that are not next to each other. :O)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitteakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Hill

Property: Inn on the Hill
Address: 225 N State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84103-4615 (Formerly Inn on Capitol Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A timeless masterpiece! The Inn on the Hill is Salt Lake City's premier Bed & Breakfast. Experience the Inns' quiet elegance with rooms that have been designed with your ultimate comfort in mind. Relax with down bedding, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and spectacular views! Surprise someone special today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On The Hill Hotel Salt Lake City
Inn On The Hill Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing