We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another time I will try another hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another time I will try another hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

I arrived here and I had the impression to be brought back to the 50s. Everything was old-style. My room was big, but it is almost all the positive I can say about it. The furnishing was old, dirty and consumed by the time and the use. The bath was very small and I think it was in plastic, not a classical bath, which I am used to. It was also quite nosy because there was a building being built just in front of my room. Positive was the free wireless internet access and the free airport shuttle, which you have to book a day before, to be sure to have a place. However, the stuff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    326
    122
    26
    20
See reviews for
159
204
101
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

The Salt Lake Plaza Hotel is a block away from Temple Square in downtown Salt Lake City and, thus enables easy walking access to all the interesting landmarks of the Mormon church's headquarters. Downtown is also within easy walking distance, with restaurants, shops, and elegant apartment buildings already in place and large areas still being constructed. The hotel has a shuttle for easy access to the Salt Lake Airport. The rooms are large and clean with a pool and fitness center. The price is very reasonalbe.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujuBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

I read the reviews of this hotel with some trepidation. It was described as old and the pictures of the outside of the hotel taken in evening suggested a cover up for an old building.
In fact the hotel is modern inside and out. I had a high room with a view of the mountains. It was clean and comfortable and large by European standards. I had a fridge microwave and coffee machine. The in room safe was Ok for my lap top. My package included breakfast. That was excellent with cereals lots of fresh and tinned fruit and coffee. There were breads and pastry on only one of the four days. The free shuttle to and from the airport made life easy and the shuttle was also offered when a taxi did not arrive on time. The driver pointed out that a tip was not expected! The hotel is across the road from the conference centre and a free tram ride to the Great American Hotel which was the conference headquarters hotel. I would certainly return to the same hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myview025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

This hotel is adjacent to the LDS Family History Library. Very convenient, if you're into genealogy research.

The hotel is by no means a resort, but the room was clean, very spacious, w/a very comfortable bed, dual sinks, refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV, and complementary WiFi.

The free UTA streetcar system is directly in front of the hotel. It is easy to get around the downtown area.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DR4625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

I got a great price at the time for a single room with two queen sized beds. Probably the best part of staying in this hotel was the location. It is situated between the Gateway shopping plaza, the Planetarium, the Temple Square. I spent my first day entirely on foot from sun up to sun down checking out all of the sights and shops in a 2-3 mile radius. Parking was cheap compared to others. My room faced the Capitol building and the mountains, but there was some construction outside during my stay that woke me once or twice, but it was not too loud or frequent. Overall, a good place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zifmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Yes, a very clean, professional hotel in a good location i.e. 5 mins from Temple Square [turn left] & 15 mins from The Gateway Mall [to thre right].

I waited over an hour for the shuttle bus to arrive after 14 hours of flying. I witnessed every other hotel shuttle in town come & go at least twice. Finally I called the free phone no. [176] from the airport to be told "the the shuttle bus doesn't shuttle until requested." Finally it turned up with a very pleasant driver.

My room was on the top floor and was very spacious with a great view.

Otherwise, a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsleyronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel I was hesitant to book a room, but it turned out to be an excellent choice. I was in Salt Lake City for three days, specifically to do research at the Family History Library which is located next door. The Plaza Hotel was very convenient and safe. The rooms have been renovated recently although the bathrooms still need some work. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, even allowing me a late checkout. JB's restaurant is an OK choice -- large portions, cheap prices, very friendly servers. I don't know how the location would work for tourists since I saw nothing of SLC except the room, JB's and the library.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.8 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Property: Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Address: 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#32 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Lake Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's Dream Location Hotel. Located across the street from Utah's most visited attraction Historic Temple Square hosting six million visitors annually. Next door to the World's Largest Family History Library where you can research your family roots for free. Across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Adjacent to the Gateway Mall Salt Lake’s Historic district. You will enjoy our friendly caring staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salt Lake Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing