We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Salt Lake City Center(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$191
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn Downtown(Salt Lake City)
$113
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$97
$94
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Peery Hotel(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$107
$98
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$221
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Airport(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$105
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little America Hotel(Salt Lake City)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveler rating
295
381
134
29
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
381
134
29
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily history librarytemple squarejb's restaurantgreat locationfamily restaurantadjacent restaurantgenealogy researchlds churchsalt lakeconvention centertram stopparking garagewithin walking distanceper dayfree shuttle servicedirectly across the streetan older hotel
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 863 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently stayed at the Salt Lake Plaza while attending the Stampin' Up Convention. This is the third year I've stayed there during the convention and once again I shared a room with two other ladies. The location is the BEST ... just a very short walk to the Salt Palace (SLC's convention center), City Creek, lots of restaurants, and the Trax stops right in front of the hotel!
The rooms were recently renovated ... I appreciated the new carpet and linens, but I really liked the old arrangement better where they had a bench (for seating or luggage) and an open rack for hanging clothes ... this area is now just wasted space! They bumped out a spot in the room for the new closet, well hidden behind a lovely mirror ... this takes up some space and I had to call the front desk to find where the closet was! LOL I was happy to see the rooms still have the small refrigerator and microwave and though we never watched it, the room also had a good sized flat screen TV.
Speaking of the front desk, the staff there, and throughout the hotel, have always been very helpful and kind. At peak times, they could have a few more people to speed up the check-in process, but everyone was very helpful and patient.
The lobby area is lovely too ... people are always meeting up there so the nice chairs and couches are appreciated. Plus the hotel has a computer available in the lobby for guest to print their boarding passes and there's even a scale to weigh luggage!
I will definitely stay at the Salt Lake Plaza again because the LOCATION is the BEST and the staff members have always been great too. And although the price is good, I was a bit surprised that there was a daily charge for the safe which we didn't use. The person at check-out was happy to remove this charge when I asked about it, but I'm sure many people don't bother since it isn't large (a dollar or two a day) ... this adds up when they're charging everyone this fee. Oh, but the parking is very reasonable ... only $5 per 24 hour period with in and out privileges ... very reasonable for a downtown area! :-)

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have the sink outside the shower/toilet area which is very helpful when sharing the room with others.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lj1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear lj1225,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for the Plaza Hotel.

Our customers define who we are. We will keep trying hard to offer a great value and a wonderful memorable experience for our guests.

Thanks again,

Roger Workman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Kimberly at the reservations desk was able to find a lovely room for me when I needed a short stay. I spent Thursday and Friday, July 24 and 25 there. All of the staff were kind and friendly. The concierge/shuttle drivers Andrew and Adam, had excellent suggestions for dining and the free shuttle took me there. The room was comfortably spacious, with a king bed and a couch and plenty of lighting. My room, which looked over the city, and like all rooms was equipped with a refrigerator/freezer, a microwave, a coffeemaker, and other amenities. The hotel is located right at Temple Square, within easy walking of mall, sites, and dining. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Paula F,

Thank You for your comments. It is good to hear that our staff is so friendly and considerate. I will pass your comments on to those staff members you mentioned.

Sincerely,

Roger Workman,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel has been renovated and is very lovely. It is located right next to Temple Square just a few steps away. Check in was very quick and the clerk was very helpful. Our room was very large and the beds were comfortable. There is covered parking for $5.00 and there is a tram service right in front of the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Salt Lake.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014
Google Translation

Dear “Très bien ,

Je tiens à vous exprimer notre gratitude.

Sincerely,

Roger Workman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Smack in the center of the city and directly across the street from the Mormon Temple. And, less than a block from a very nice shopping mall. Our room was spacious and well-appointed...even
the wallpaper was appealing. The bed was very comfortable and a sofa made for relaxed tv
watching. A small refrigerator,microwave oven and coffee maker were welcome features. Our tour group enjoyed an excellent breakfast buffet prior to departure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank foodhoundBurbank_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear foodhoundBurbank_Ca,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. The owners and staff are working together and trying our best to "BE THE BEST"

Our customers define who we are.

Sincerely,

Roger Vlaanderen
Front Office Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I was up in Park City to visit friends and places I used to hang out when Iived there and decided to come down to SLC so I could also go visit Snowbird, Alta, Brighton etc.I lived in SLC when I was younger and hadn't spent more than a taxi ride through to get to Park City in years.
I don't find a lot too exciting about SLC honestly, but I did sightsee more than ever before on this trip. One reason is the great location of the SLC Plaza Hotel. That, along with the price, were driving factors to stay there. I was a bit nervous if it would be too yucky- it looked a bit run down from pictures and the exterior looked a bit shabby. The lobby furniture is a good five years beyond where it should be! But....the rooms are actually quite fine and clean. They look much better than the lobby. And the front desk were very nice and very helpful. It was very convenient to so much! I walked to many places from there and would definitely stay there again. I used it to base many fun daytrips up into the mountains, but it is tight next door to the genealogy building and next to temple square. Cedar Creek Center with tons of shopping and restaurants is only a 1/2 block sway and its right on the city train line. For the money: great value.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
Thank KAK807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thanks so much for your kind review. We appreciate our customers. You are right about your comments. The Plaza Hotel has just remodeled all the rooms. We are getting so many compliments on them.

The lobby is a little dated....Soon we will have a new Lobby too!

Sincerely,

Roger Workman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews