We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
North Temple Inn(Salt Lake City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (848)
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveler rating
289
372
134
29
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
372
134
29
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily history librarytemple squarejb's restaurantgreat locationfamily restaurantgenealogy researchadjacent restaurantlds churchsalt lakeconvention centertram stopparking garagewithin walking distanceper dayfree shuttle servicedirectly across the streetlight rail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 848 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great central location. Clean tidy smallish rooms. Well equipped. Our party was given 1 room in between the lifts! When we commented on this we were assured there was not normally complaints of noise from lift mechanisms. This room is replicated on many floors, beware.
We did find intrusive noise from the lifts as they operated. We were then offered the same room on a different floor!! After much insistence another room was found. It was a serious upgrade and given free so was appreciated.
We did not expect the noisy guest partying their way along the corridors in the early hours. Salt Lake is a famous religious town after all.
Breakfast service was lacking, but food good.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near (and in between!) the 3 noisy lift shafts. Also many late night revellers still partying along the corridors into early hours. Not what you would expect from a 'religious town' hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveOutaBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear LiveOutaBag,

Thanks for the positive comments about the hotel. The smaller room that you stayed in has
all the amenities of our standard and deluxe rooms at a smaller price.
These rooms are conveniently located near the elevators, which some guests appreciate.
Generally we do not get complaints about the noise outside these rooms. I believe that during your stay we were very busy and there was a lot of activity here at the Plaza as we were full.
I am happy that our front desk helped to assist you to a nice upgrade.

RW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Room was a bit dated but clean and very spacious. Wi fi was very fast and reliable. Location of the hotel is very good, just 5 minutes from the town centre. A nice place to stay in Salt Lake City. We did enjoy our stay at the Salt Lake Plaza Hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear patkiirc333,

Thanks for your review. Yes our deluxe and standard rooms are spacious. Each room has a beautiful view. Within the next 30 days the rooms will all be completely remodeled. Our location is so awesome....We are across the street form the Salt Palace Convention center, The worlds largest family research library, and Temple Square. Kitty corner across the street is the new City Creek Center with fabulous shopping and dining experiences. The Trax runs right in front of the Plaza Hotel and is free in the downtown area. We hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Vera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We looked at reviews for a nice night out. $200 was high for a suite, but with kids it's essential. Threadbare, 1980s, peach worn couches, once glorious, now weary. Don't stay here if Motel 8 or budget hotel is an option. Can't believe conditions

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Mathewneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Mathewneal,

I would agree that the 4 suites at the Plaza are dated. The suites are fully amenitized with a large Jacuzzi. The separate bedroom is private from the living room area. WE pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our Hotel and the rooms. We get many compliments about how clean the rooms are...
WE are currently at the tail end of a total remodel of the sleeping rooms. By August 1st,2014 our rooms will be newly renovated....and they are very nice. Unfortunately the suites are at the very end of the remodel project.. but when they are done they will be so nice!

We hope you will give us another try !

RW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

If you want to visit temple square this is the best location. This hotel is not the fanciest, the restaurant is not the best. But.... I cannot find anything that would keep me from coming back. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious, clean but somewhat outdated . If you want fancy there is plenary of other hotels around, this seemed to be a honest value.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Aussiebitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Aussiebitz,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. You are right! Our location is second to none when exploring Salt Lake City! And just for your future reference, we have been recently remodeling all of our guest rooms to give them a more modern look, a project expected to be completed before the end of the year!
So next time you're in town, give us a call and we would be happy to get you into one of the newer rooms! We'll see you next time!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I was VERY pleasantly surprised with this hotel and their accommodations. The first night we stayed in an economy room which was fine but not very spacious. I chose and booked this room and was figuring I would just have to grin and bare it. However, I spoke with Jeff at the front desk and he did some head scratching and was able to put my wife and I into a really beautiful room with a great view of SLC. I was really happy with the customer service I received from Jeff and the hotel. Customer service is dead, but not here. The hotel staff also recommended some good restaurants to us and they were very helpful. The room was great, the cleaning staff was excellent, very clean hotel. The best part about this hotel is its proximity to Temple square, the mall, and all sorts of entertainment. Great staff + Great location + Great customer service = GREAT hotel. I would definitely stay here again and I am picky. This was a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jp_1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear jp_1674,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate you as a customer. By August of 2014 all the rooms at the Plaza Hotel will have been completely remodeled, Including the smaller cozy compact rooms. We do have 24 of these smaller rooms. They have all the amenities of our standard rooms, but at a smaller price. These rooms are perfect for some people, others would prefer a more spacious room. I am happy Jeff was able to upgrade you to a standard room.

Thanks for your comments,

Roger Workman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews