We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, Luke warm breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Blaenau Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Luke warm breakfast.”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed just one night in this pleasant hotel, situated in a perfect location in this beautiful city.
Close to the Temple Square and the Mormon Temple, and next door to the Latter Day-Saints Family History Centre. Lovely gardens nearby also. Very comfortable rooms and pleasant staff. Shame about the rather ordinary buffet breakfast, with luke-warm scrambled eggs, possibly a one-off. Nevertheless, a decent hotel in a convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room, to enjoy wonderful views of this lovely city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymro32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your response. We will keep trying our best.


Sincerely,

Vera
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    327
    123
    26
    20
See reviews for
159
208
101
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have no complains at all. Great locations, and above all things, great environment. The staff is very gentle and helpful. I did not try the food, yet I could notice an awesome hot tub, strangely located near the lobby.

Nice option.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your response. We will keep trying our best.


Sincerely,

Vera
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
212 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here for the ----- time - it's been a lot. Can't beat the location for doing genealogy at the LDS library next door. Only issue I had this time was that I was put in room 1315. The compressors? for the hotel sounded like they were right on top of my room. I could see them on the roof. All night long it felt like lawn mower noise in my room - next to little sleep. FORTUNATELY the next morning when I was asked how my room was, the gal offered to put me in a different room on the 10th floor. What a difference! It was quiet as could be. I now settled in for the rest of my stay. If you are doing genealogy, Café Navoo offers very good food and with a coupon from the library, 10% discount is offered. The cafeteria in the basement of the church office building also has wonderful food for lunch. Nice to have refrig and microwave in room too. Otherwise free shuttle service is great to and from the airport and the front desk offers very friendly service.

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep, stay away from the rooms on the 13th floor by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your response. We will keep trying our best.


Sincerely,

Vera
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondsville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
263 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our location for a recent genealogical conference. Right next door to the Family History Library and across the street from Temple Square. Can take a break every day at noon to hear the free organ recital across the street. Tram stops in front of the hotel and a shuttle bus gets you back and forth to the airport. Friendly staff and hotel is being updated gradually On-site restaurant, amenities in spacious rooms, favorable rates for on-site conferences. For genealogist or those who want very close access to Temple Square, no need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We Love Genealogists At The Plaza Hotel

Thank you for your response. We will keep trying our best.


Sincerely,

Vera
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I had a wonderful birthday at the Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City.Rooms very clean,comfortable convenience of Down town.Need to spoil your self and not break the bank go here you will feel like a new person.

Room Tip: Go high for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackR1872AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear JackR1872AA,

Thank you for your response. We will keep trying our best.


Sincerely,

Vera
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Dear friends at the Salt Lake Plaza Hotel May 5,2014
It has been two and a half weeks since I visited your hotel and your lovely city.The hotel was lovely and the service was fantastic.I was around my favourite attraction Temple Square.The staff was friendly and they made me feel welcome and right at home.I am looking to returning to Salt Lake real soon and plan to stay in your hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less AC unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Neil E
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We take pride in our friendly staff they are some of the best in the business. You just cant beat the location. across from Temple Square, the new downtown mall and the convention center.
We look forward to your next visit here in Salt Lake
Best Regards
Roger Vlaanderen
Front Office Manager
801 521-0130 ext. 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

great staff.
Great location and easy access to the mall and the transit system. Right in front of the hotel.
Complimentary shuttle from airport is a great service. and the driver even spoke about the history while we were driving to the hotel from the airport. good experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Ali Z,
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our staff, location, and complimentary airport shuttle! It's always a treat for some of our guests to be able to catch a ride with one of our very knowledgeable drivers.
I am very happy you let us know of your good experience and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in town!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.8 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Property: Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Address: 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#32 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Lake Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's Dream Location Hotel. Located across the street from Utah's most visited attraction Historic Temple Square hosting six million visitors annually. Next door to the World's Largest Family History Library where you can research your family roots for free. Across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Adjacent to the Gateway Mall Salt Lake’s Historic district. You will enjoy our friendly caring staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Salt Lake Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing