We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Back Again”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Always enjoy the convenience of this hotel as I come to spend a week doing research next door at the LDS library. Had trouble with heat the first night I was there. Reported it to the desk and just ordered another blanket. Room was large and clean. Also enjoy having a microwave and refrig as I bring along a few food items for my breakfast. Otherwise I go to Navoo Café or the church office building cafeteria (wonderful selection!) for most of my meals. Nice to have free shuttle service to and from the airport too. I'm sure I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enjoy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Enjoy2travel,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear that we were able to get the heat issue resolved for you. I'm also happy to hear that our complimentary shuttle and in room microwave and refrigerator were of use to you! Next time you're in town, you know who to call! We'll see you soon!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    352
    126
    27
    21
See reviews for
172
217
108
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you are visiting the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, the Plaza Hotel is pefectly located, less than a block away at the corner of Temple Square. The renovated rooms are up to date and clean and the staff friendly. Free shuttle service to the airport, but be sure check on the hours that it is available. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant. The rooms have a microwave and small refrigerator, so one can visit the Harmons - a terrific grocery store a few blocks away - to stock up on items for a good in-room breakfast. Ask for a renovated room. When I return to that Library, I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. An upper floor will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear stan w,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our new rooms! We are very excited about them and love hearing what our guests think! And you are definitely right... with our location to the Family History Library, there's no better place to stay when visiting Salt Lake City! We will see you next time!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Plaza is one of the growing number of Hotels that offer a bed and little else. There is no mini bar but there was an incredibly noisy vending machine outside my room...so bring small change. I was using the Family History Library so the location was perfect...right next door. It is also adjacent the LDS Temple Sq and a lot of adjacent property is church owned, so I found myself at a restaurant that didn't serve alcohol! I got to listen to the Mormon Tabernacle Choir rehearsing which was nice. There is good shopping nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieandCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Longmont_Mitch,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our location to the Family History Library and Temple Square, two of the most visited downtown attractions! While the restaurant in our hotel does not offer bar service, next time you're in town, definitely talk to one of our very knowledgeable concierge or front desk agents and we can give you numerous suggestions of some of our downtown favorites that are within steps of our front door. We hope to see you next time!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, CO
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The Plaza is perfectly situated for visits to Temple Square. The downside was that the free wifi was very hard to find. I eventually had to stand in one place near the elevators to get a usable signal. It wasn't only me, I met others there seeking out wifi access as well. The Plaza needs to fix this.
If you're in town for access to the family history library, this is the perfect place.
The room was clean and comfortable.
The UTAH TRAX stops right outside. Parking is available at $5.00 a day. JB's restaurant is next door. The breakfast buffet there is good value.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Longmont_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Longmont_Mitch,

Thank you for your comments. I'm happy you enjoyed our location and hotel. Our management company had actually conducted a complete analysis of our internet system, including the routers and bandwidth, and had found the same problem you did. All of the new equipment has already arrived in Salt Lake City and we are arranging to have our new upgraded system installed within the next week. Thank you for your input and helping to make us follow through with our goal, which is to provide the best service we can for each guest. Next time you're in town, you'll definitely see the difference!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel has an awesome location!! It's right downtown in the action with plenty of restaurants, a huge mall, historic attractions, etc. nearby. We had a nice walk around the area after dark and never felt unsafe. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff was extremely courteous. No breakfast included tho.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohsuzyq10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ohsuzyq10,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our location, hotel and staff! We're always striving to be the best, so it's great to hear when one of our guests has a good experience. Next time you stay with us try the breakfast buffet at the restaurant attached to our hotel. We will see you next time!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is located right beside temple square. The reception was efficient and the room was large clean and comfortable. It is good the hotel can be accessed through the carpark next door and discounted parking rates apply. There is no breakfast provided but there is a restaurant attached if you want to eat close to the hotel. We did not eat breakfast but we ate there one night. The food was OK but nothing special. For other meals we went across the road to the City Creek shopping centre where we found a far better choice of restaurants. There is a second shopping centre within walking distance if you turn right when leaving the hotel and walk down past the Convention centre called The Gateway. This also has restaurants and some of the smaller shopping chains.

The only problems we has with the hotel was the local tram system stops right outside and this was quite noisy. Also someone's dirty room service tray was left outside our room door and we had to contact reception to have it removed as it appeared to have been ignored by the cleaning staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel or high up to get away from the noisy trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraftingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear CraftingChris,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our location. And thank you for your feedback on the trays, I will definitely be passing that information on so that we can better serve our guests. And you are right; there are numerous different restaurants within walking distance of our front door; something to make everyone happy! Next time you're in town, definitely make note to us that you prefer the north side of the building and we'd be happy to accommodate you.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

You can't beat the location of this hotel right next to Temple Square and an easy walking distance to the City Creek Mall. We had one of their newly renovated rooms, so it was clean, quiet and nicely appointed. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. It's also an easy drive to the airport and you also have the light rail right out front if you don't have a car. We had a nice room, close to everything we wanted to see. For an overnight stay in Salt Lake this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flintstones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Flintstones123,

Thank you for your comments. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our centralized location as well as the convenience of the light rail right outside our front door. I'm also happy to hear you enjoyed the new rooms. We're very excited about them and love hearing what our guests think!
We'll see you next time you have an overnight trip to SLC!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.8 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Property: Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Address: 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#32 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Lake Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's Dream Location Hotel. Located across the street from Utah's most visited attraction Historic Temple Square hosting six million visitors annually. Next door to the World's Largest Family History Library where you can research your family roots for free. Across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Adjacent to the Gateway Mall Salt Lake’s Historic district. You will enjoy our friendly caring staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salt Lake Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing