We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Search For A Great Hotel in SLC Is Over!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I, like you, use Tripadvisor's reviews to help me determine what hotel we're going to stay in when we're on the road. Book this hotel, you can't go wrong!

My main priority, and the thing I worry most about, when staying at a hotel is cleanliness. These rooms can be considered luxurious and they're immaculate. When staying in an establishment of this level, that's what you get.

I booked this hotel online after reading the reviews. We were not disappointed. This hotel has the BEST location in Salt Lake City if you want to be downtown and right across the street from Temple Square and a beautiful shopping district. After touring around this beautiful city for 2 days, we found the other larger chain hotels seem to be out of the way.

The front desk staff went out of their way to accommodate us as our vehicle had a rooftop carrier on it and wouldn't fit in their underground parking. (I read somewhere that there is an additional charge for parking...I think I read $5). They gave us a spot directly outside their lobby that is reserved for their own vehicles. And, we got such a great rate by booking through bookit.com, and were so happy with our room, that we decided to stay another night. The young man on the front desk worked his magic and did some switching around of future guests and allowed us to stay in our same room and gave us the same great rate we had gotten online!

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, actually I wouldn't stay at any other establishment as there are no other as convenient or helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSRoadrunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear NovaScotiaRoadrunner,

Thank you for your comments. I'm happy to hear you had a good experience while staying with us. Customer service is always our number one priority, so I'm glad we measured up! Make sure to give us a call next time you're in town; we'd love to host your stay again!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Sales & Marketing Manager
801-606-2405

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 805 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, clean and spacious rooms in downtown slc. NeXT to THE tabernacle and Its beautiful park and temple of latter day saints. Within walking distance from restaurants and mall. Tram stops in front of THE hotel. Would stay here again, excellent price for à well located hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franlex65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Franlex65,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our location. Give us a call next time you're in town and we'll get you into one of our newly renovated deluxe rooms!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Sales & Marketing Manager
801-606-2405

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our brief stay here at the plaza hotel. It's right across from Trax (Utah Transit Authority) and a short walking distance from Temple Square and the beautiful City Creek Center mall. There is no complimentary breakfast but there is a restaurant next door. What we really needed and used was the complimentary shuttle from the airport and that was one of the main reasons why we chose this hotel. Our room offered a lovely view of the surrounding mountains. If you are looking for something clean, comfortable, and convenient, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgetsbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear travelgetsbetter,

Thank you for your comments. I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to see you again next time you are in town!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Sales & Marketing Manager
801-606-2405

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend and really loved it! The front desk staff was very friendly. The location of this hotel can't be beat if you want to experience downtown Salt Lake. They have recently done renovations to the hotel and our room was so nice, clean and updated. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Libby M,

Thank you for your comments. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the new upgrades we've made! We will see you next time you're in town!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Sales & Marketing Manager
801-606-2405

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A friend and I spent almost a week at this hotel in September, 2012, as part of an Ancestor Seekers group (highly recommend Ancestor Seekers too!). As others have noted, this hotel is exactly next door to the Family History Library and across the street from Temple Square. It is also within walking distance to several shopping areas and across the street from a relatively new downtown mall. It is an older hotel, and it's not fancy, but it is more than serviceable. My husband and I generally stay at Hampton Inns and this hotel was certainly up to those standards (but no included breakfast!). Our room had two queen beds and was very large. It had a standard small hotel bathroom, but there was an additional basin and counter space in the room, which was handy. We also had a mini-fridge and microwave. There's a Denny's-type restaurant attached, which had decent breakfasts and quick service. The hotel folks were very helpful and friendly and we had no complaints at all. On our final morning, we had to leave before their airport shuttle started running, so the desk reserved a taxi for us in advance. When it hadn't come when they thought it should, they initiated another call to get them there on time. I would definitely stay here again. It was comfortable and pleasant and very, very, convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Striggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Striggs,

Thank you for your comments! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We've done some remodeling to our guest rooms since you've stayed with us (the project is currently still underway), so next time you're in town, be sure to give us a call and we'll make sure you get to experience our new, beautiful rooms!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Sales & Marketing Manager
801-606-2405

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during a conference this past week. He was at the conference so I was at the hotel most of the day from Tuesday-Friday. The hotel was clean and comfortable for the most part. That's the good here is the bad!! After the first night stay I was up taking a shower in the morning. My husband came in and asked me if my leg was bleeding. Uh no..... There was blood on the sheets towards the feet area that was not ours!!! It was not a stain from a sheet that had been washed. It was from a sheet that had not been changed. Then on Thursday afternoon I was laying down in the room when my husband came by for lunch. About 30 seconds after he left I heard a faint knock on the door. I figured it was my husband since I have the do not disturb door knocker on the door as well as the lock showing do not disturb. Wrong!! It was housekeeping who just walked in and didn't even wait 5 seconds for me to answer. I was completely nude and not happy!!!!! The hotel was nice the housekeeping needs a serious looking into!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjaytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear bjaytaylor,

Thank you for your comments. After reading your remarks I immediately did some investigating into the situation. I found out that the housekeeper on that floor had seen your husband leave and knowing it was one of her rooms to clean she went to your room. The 'Do Not Disturb' sign must have been knocked off because there was no sign she could see. After knocking the first time there was no reply and so she entered, but as soon as she heard your voice she closed the door. As for the blood on the sheet, we were not made aware of this situation during your stay or we could have quickly remedied the situation. We have state of the art laundry facilities here on the property with a full time laundry staff to meet any of the needs our guests may have. We are currently in the middle of a million dollar remodel project so that we can continue to offer the best value in Salt Lake City hotels. As always, we really do appreciate your feedback as it helps us know what our guests are thinking.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Sales & Marketing Manager
801-606-2405

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is clean and quiet with a great location. I booked a room with 2 double beds on hotels.com and they tried to give me a room with one queen. After some convincing on my part, they switched me to the room I had reserved.

There is free parking in a parking garage adjacent to the hotel. We asked for walking directions to Market Street and they offered to drive us. I would definitely stay at the Plaza again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Thail D,

Thank you for your comments. The parking is indeed free on Sunday during the day, but just to clarify a bit more, over night parking is $5 per night (a screaming deal for downtown)! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you next time you are in town!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Sales & Marketing Manager
801-606-2405

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.8 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#27 of 75 in Salt Lake City
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Address: 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#32 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $109 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Lake Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's Dream Location Hotel. Located across the street from Utah's most visited attraction Historic Temple Square hosting six million visitors annually. Next door to the World's Largest Family History Library where you can research your family roots for free. Across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Adjacent to the Gateway Mall Salt Lake’s Historic district. You will enjoy our friendly caring staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Salt Lake Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing