We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Choice Hotel EVERYTIME!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We live fairly close to Salt Lake, so therefor travel there on a regular basis, and this is almost ALWAYS our hotel. It is very nice, well cleaned, amazing employees, good prices, and GREAT location! We always request a high up room for the view! The swimming pool is on the smaller side but it isn't horrible, and the hot tub is amazing! And the beds are really comfortable as well.

Room Tip: Higher ones for view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trista H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 838 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a Send Out Cards convention and have been impressed with the whole experience! We saved money over the Marriott and other pricier hotels. The front entrance to the Salt Palace Convention Center is about 355 feet from hotel. The green line Tram passes in front of the hotel which takes the reps directly in front of the Send Out Cards headquarters at Redwood Junction stop. JB's Restaurant, attached to the hotel, is fair in value and diverse in menu. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GilnAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights. We were pleasantly surprised that there's a courtesy shuttle to and from the hotel/airport. George, our driver, was super friendly and helpful. He even missed his office Christmas party so he can bring us to the airport. Such a nice guy!

Rooms were spacious enough to fit our 3 big luggages. Furnishings are simple and room was very clean which I liked. Too bad though they dont include complimentary breakfast. Front desk were friendly and accommodating enough. It wont hurt though for them to smile.

It's pretty much in the center of downtown with the temple square just right across the street. The light rail stop is just in front of the hotel so you can get an all day pass to hop on and off easily. By the way, if you're staying or going to places in downtown, light rail is free!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed for a night whilst driving from Yellowstone to Yosemite and the hotel was perfect for a short stay. The room was quite small bit it was very clean. The parking garage is very convenient and the location is good too. It would be nice if they put on a breakfast as it is just so convenient to eat breakfast at your hotel before a busy day.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanadi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for just under a week. It is very conveniently located near the convention centre. The hotel has a shuttle which will pick up you and drop you off at the hotel. The driver on the way to the hotel was friendly however the driver on the return to the airport was rather sharp and rude. The room itself was comfortable, nothing fancy but I got a good nights sleep. The room was clean and very large, but the furniture was a bit dated and I the bathroom once again is just a basic bathroom. Free wireless internet a bonus. Don't order room service here - there is a restaurant downstairs/next door that you can order take-away from if you don't want to eat in - the food was good and would recommend the shakes. Location was great if you are attending a conference at the convention centre. It is also across the road from the temple and just around the corner for the Family Research Centre. There is a tram stop just outside the hotel which is great if you want to get around the downtown area. I didn't have much to do with the staff, other than the shuttle and check in, they were a no overly friendly - not sure if this was because I am a female traveling alone, as it seems they greated couples a different way, this didn't bother me greatly but just thought I would comment on this.

Room Tip: Eat at the restaurant downstairs for some good, well priced food. Don't order room service as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tams_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We selected this hotel firstly because of it's central location and secondly because of it's price. The location is perfect. Centrally close to Temple Square, the new City Creek Mall (Nordstroms & Macy's), and light rail. The hotel and rooms are very clean with new furnishings. The staff at the front desk, despite looking like fresh faced Mormon Missionaries, are very friendly and accommodating and recommended some great local attractions and good eats - my 16 & 18 year old daughters were very impressed!

I was surprised to read from another review that the hotel was 'very dirty' in fact it's very much the opposite. This hotel exceeds many 5 star hotels I have stayed in with cleanliness and new furnishings. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and quiet frankly I wouldn't pay 2 - 3 times more money to stay in another hotel in town that 1 or 2 more stars.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

If you're staying at the Salt Lake Plaza, it's because of the location. Thankfully, the room was clean (if dated), the service was fine, and the amenities were adequate. The in-room fridge and microwave were nice to have. The decor and TV were very old. The hairdryer kept shutting off every few minutes, which was a pain and my only real complaint about the room. There was some noise from the tram outside, but putting the fan on covered up the noise pretty well. Wi-fi worked well.
The cleaning staff was very polite and helpful. The restaurant was really basic. The only reason to eat there is to not have to leave the building.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packlighttravelright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.9 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#13 of 76 in Salt Lake City
1,913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#26 of 76 in Salt Lake City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Address: 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#28 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $87 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Lake Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's Dream Location Hotel. Located across the street from Utah's most visited attraction Historic Temple Square hosting six million visitors annually. Next door to the World's Largest Family History Library where you can research your family roots for free. Across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Adjacent to the Gateway Mall Salt Lake’s Historic district. You will enjoy our friendly caring staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Salt Lake Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing