We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Seems Holiday Inns are getting better and better. . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
College Park, Georgia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“Seems Holiday Inns are getting better and better. . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed in two Holiday Inns this trip and both were great properties. This one, outside Salt Lake City's airport, is brand new and very fresh. Room was high quality, with clever allusions to Holiday Inns past (pictures with old signs, $8 room prices, etc. . .), a good bed, nice and updated decor, and an efficient bathroom. Quibbles include a door lock that didn't work so well--wouldn't lock back up, so had to get this taken care of with the front desk--and scant staff. Sometimes I went past front desk and there was no one. Also fitness center was almost non-existent. Would be nice if the hotel had arrangements with a nearby gym if the facility on site is so inadequate.

Location of the hotel is super convenient. Airport is very close (though Google Maps sent me the wrong way--beware) and downtown SLC is just four miles away, merely five minutes with no traffic.

Overall great value--my $51 bid was accepted on Priceline (usually about $129) and at the hotel, internet and parking are free. Beware if you use Priceline and require a double double--the Priceline rooms have just one bed, and getting a room with two beds will subject you to an upcharge. This is a heinous practice among hotels that treat Priceline guests differently, but they do here.

Interestingly, this is the only full service Holiday Inn in Salt Lake City, which I found odd. Does make it easier to locate though.

Room Tip: Double double rooms with two beds seem to be at a premium here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you TravelBeard for your thoughtful review. I appreciate the kind words and also the constructive feedback that affords us an opportunity to review our product and our procedures. It is through good thoughtful reviews such as yours that we are able to improve upon what we are currently doing. So thank you very much for your time, consideration, and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    89
    28
    15
    11
See reviews for
52
56
29
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

This holiday inn was gorgeous and he rooms huge. The front desk staff was so professional and nice, they let us check in early. I would definitely stay here again. No free breakfast but buffet was 1/2 with coupon from checkin so my breakfast with coffee only $5.75 each including coffee. The food was very good. We also ordered pizza last night and it was made from scratch and do good!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Annette thank you for your thoughful and nice review! My team really prides itself on giving great service and preparing tasty food so to see it in writing in this public forum is very rewarding. Again, thanks for your consideration and I to see you on your next visit to Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed with the food at this hotel restaurant. The food was good and the service quick for our large group of 13. The fish tacos were yummy. I would eat here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank epfreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your compliment to our restaurant! I too really enjoy the fish taco's......especially when they are grilled. I hope you will come back and see us again next time you are in Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Close to the airport and clean, quiet room. Lobby staff very friendly..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Glenn thank you for your positive feedback. It is our number one goal of course to impress our guests and it appears we were able to do so with you. Please come back and see us again next time you are here in Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel was in the recent PointBreak list and we were on a trip to Yellowstone, so I booked two nights without any hesitation. It is only a 5-10 minute drive to get to the hotel from airport. When we checked in, a very polite staff welcomed us and said we had been upgraded to a one bedroom suite. It turns to be a mini suite with sofa and an extra LCD tv in a very small living room, but anyway better than nothing. They don't have free breakfast, and instead offer a voucher which takes 50% off our breakfast bill. The room is clean but the air conditioning can be extremely loud at night, which makes me give only 4 stars.

The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is a typical no-man zone, like in other US cities' outskirts. And I don't think there is any reasonable restaurant except the hotel's own within walking distance. But driving in SLC is relaxing and traffic is way better than other major US cities. So it is not a bad idea to stay outside the downtown and rent a car, if you can get a good price here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junglyhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again next time you are in Salt Lake. I will have my maintenance team look at the air conditioning unit to see if we can quiet it down. Thanks for letting me know about the issue.

Again, thank you very much for your kind words and thank you for choosing to stay here at the Holiday Inn Salt Lake City Airport. We truly value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Spent one night there on the way to Denver. Front desk staff was extremely friendly. The property is nicely decorated, the lobby has a good feel to it. We had a 1 bedroom suite which was spacious and modern. Comfortable bed and didn't hear any plane noise even thoughh we were on the airport side of the hotel. My only complaint was the lighting. The area where the bathroom and closet is was very dark. Our bill was ready under the door in the morning and we were thanked and told to have a great day on the way out the door.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpccarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! It is always nice to receive positive feedback from our guests.

Have a great week and we hope to see you again next time your are through Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed on points and thought the place was going to be a dumpy Holiday Inn. It wasn't...in fact I was happily surpried at how nice a hotel this was. I have no complaints about anything. if you can get a good deal on it, stay here. There is nothing around at all except a small mom and pop restaurant...but for being close to the airport this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishnmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Holiday Inn's are not what they were back in the 70's and 80's; the great majority are new and/or have been refreshed during the past 5 years. In fact we just won the JD Powers Award for best mid tiered lodging brand in the country.

I hope you will stay with us again next time you come through Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Salt Lake City Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Salt Lake C...
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#37 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City Airport
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City...
#30 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Airport
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Air...
#38 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#36 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West
Address: 5001 W Wiley Post Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84116-2850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#29 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Salt Lake City Airport West! Minutes from Salt Lake International Airport, downtown Salt Lake City, and four world-famous ski resorts within 45 minutes, the Holiday Inn Salt Lake City Airport West is ideally located. A free airport shuttle is available. Well- appointed guest rooms in rich, warm tones with spacious and well-lit work areas will delight you. Stay connected with free high-speed internet access in-room and throughout the hotel. Tie up loose ends in our 24-hour business center and enjoy the HD flat screen TVs when work is done. Triple sheeted beds and a pillow menu provide a superior night's sleep. Dine on classic American cuisine in Wingtips Bar and Bistro, our full service restaurant or enjoy the ease of room service. Catch a game on large plasma TVs in our lounge. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, indoor pool, and whirlpool. Plan a successful event with our professional meeting and catering staff. We offer over 2300 square feet of flexible meeting space. Visit these popular attractions while in Salt Lake City, Home to the XIX Olympic Winter Games: Gateway & City Creek Shopping, Salt Palace Convention Center, Temple Square and the Great Salt Lake. Visit our corporate neighbors: GE Healthcare, L3 Communications, Raytheon, and Northrop Grumman. Experience all that the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Airport West has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West
Holiday Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing