We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I will stick with the Marriott's. Although a nice hotel, there is a major disconnect with the staff (especially the front desk). Very disappointing stay on many levels - too many to list. I highly recommend looking elsewhere for lodging. On several occasions we were given bad directions to the point in which we got lost. Although they say the front desk has a concierge - it is clear that they do not. The employees do not care and do not want to take the time to help families with anything other than check in's and check out's

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Susan H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning our property. We appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay, especially our front desk staff. I will make sure to speak with my front desk staff and have them provide clearer directions as well as a map.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with this hotel. Clean comfortable,friendly staff. If I was able to change one thing though it would be to make the restaurant open for late lunches even if just with a limited menu. Searching all over downtown for any restaurant open at 3pm was frustrating. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TamGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We apologize about the inconvenience of having to go out for lunch. Next time you stay with us, please ask the front desk staff for recommendations. They know the area very well and would be more than happy to help you.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Salt Lake City and thank you for recommending us to friends and family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Driver, Desk Clerk, Staff - Nice people, no facade. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was really good - have their bacon! Nice pool and a great location. We walked to the Leonardo, restaurants, theater and shopping. I would highly recommend a stay here and will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Matthias S,

Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate it. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our staff, room, breakfast, pool and location. I will pass your comments onto my staff. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I would recommend this hotel. It is always clean, the rooms are comfortable and the staff is always more than willing to help. The workout room is well appointed and the equipment is always in working order. The hotel is also close to restaurants if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Tim D,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review, we greatly appreciate it. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your room and the fitness center. I will let my staff know that you appreciated their helpfulness. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The HGI in Salt Lake City is a wonderful hotel with the type of amenities that one would expect at a far more expensive hotel (we paid $107 a night - not sure if the price is higher in winter). The rooms are large, with plush, comfortable bedding and soft, absorbent towels. The room is very functional with a chair to watch TV from as well as a nice desk and chair for working. The shower has good water pressure and the room was both clean and quiet, with no noise from the rest of the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent, with many choices. But the one thing that kept me from rating the hotel as excellent was the strange setup for breakfast. We were under the impression that our rate included the buffet breakfast. When we sat down, we were given a menu of hot items and told the buffet, including hot items, was $10.95. We checked at the desk and they couldn't figure it out, so gave us a coupon for the breakfast. Still, it's a weird arrangement. There's an extensive cold buffet and then a hot made-to-order menu that you have to get through a server, yet the whole thing is one price. Most people in the room were confused as well as surprised that they had to pay for breakfast.

This is more a communication issue than anything else, but HGI needs to fix it to reach the quality they are surely striving for.

For those who haven't been to SLC before, don't let the map fool you. Although it looks like only a few blocks from the HGI (and all the other hotels nearby) to the Temple Square, the blocks are very long and it's over a mile.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 304 - the lower the number, the further from the elevator an ice machine, and so the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear drbking,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the room accomodations. I am sorry the breakfast setup was confusing, I will pass this feedback on to the appropriate department. We hope to see you the next time you visit Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Located just minutes from the Courthouse tram station, this hotel is a great deal for the money in a big city. The rooms were great, the staff efficient and they have fresh cookies in the foyer late in the afternoon. The restaurant in the hotel was a great value and far nicer than most in house hotel fare.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
3  Thank dotsy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our rooms, staff, cookies and restaurant. I will make sure to pass on your comments to my staff. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Julie at the front desk/reception was great, very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean, they have a nice pool and a decent workout room, also good location, easy to get to/from the airport, local restaurants and expressways.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Allan L,

Thank you for such a positive review of our hotel, we greatly appreciate it. I will let Julie know how much you appreciated her service. I am glad to see you also enjoyed our pool, fitness center and location. Please visit us again the next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 76 in Salt Lake City
1,913 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 76 in Salt Lake City
1,573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.9 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#18 of 76 in Salt Lake City
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 250 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $102 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hilton Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing