We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel that exceeded my somewhat high expectations. The reviews on tripadvisor are so positive for this hotel that I was eager to experience it - but was also worried it might not live up to all the praise. I'm happy to report this hotel really is as good as all these reviews. My wife and I paid a bit extra and reserved the jacuzzi suite. Having that 2 person jacuzzi available was fantastic after our ski days. The jacuzzi was very clean, water was hot, and it filled quickly. The bed is definitely firm, but that is too my liking. The the bathroom was large, modern, and had a great shower. Since we had the suite there was a separate room with couch, tv, desk, chair, wet bar (fridge & mwave). Everything was clean and comfortable. Cookies at 5pm are a fun treat. We ate breakfast there each morning and both the food and service was great. The huevos rancheros were terrific. Our server, Nancy, new us and our orders by the third day - it was starting to feel like home! Hotel location is ideal with a starbucks next door and a japanese steakhouse close by. We choose to go to the cool new museum, Leonardo, and that is a short drive away. For the most part, you'll want to drive to restaurants and tourist spots that are in SLC. We'll return to SLC next year and we will definitely stay at HGI again.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite is worth the extra money, especially if you'll be skiing during the days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank booking6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Booking6,

thank you for sending us a great review. We are glad that we didn't disappoint you during your ski trip. What a nice treat to soak up in the jaccuzzi after an all day of skiing. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed cookies in the afternoon and our fabulous breakfast. We hope next time you are in Salt Lake City you will stay with us again. We appreciate the business.
Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    243
    43
    10
    10
See reviews for
261
346
52
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was a high quality hotel with a fantastic location. I broke my leg skiing, and was on crutches my last day. The staff was helpful in getting me, my bags and getting my checked into the airport. Couldn't have broken my lelg in a better place. LOL

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Richard C,
We are excited to hear of the great review you left for our hotel. We are sorry for your accident while in Utah. We hope that you are having a speedy recovery. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Cons: We had a really incompetent front desk employee at check in. Sound insulation between floors was not sufficient. We had a child staying above that was running around that made boom- boom noises until we called @11pm to get them to quite down. The mattress was very hard. At this price-point most hotels have upgraded to pillow top mattresses. The bedding wasn't that great either.

Pros: Big rooms. Good location.

Summary: We will try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank restaurantguy117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Restaurantguy117,
Thank you for your remarks about our hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve. And your response gives us the oppurtunity to do just that. We will have some customer service training at the front desk and also security patrolling the hotel for noise issues. Our beds are all new and have adjustable comfort settings for your pleasure. We value all our customers and would love to have you back if you gave us another chance. Please feel free to contact me about your stay. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have been traveling to Utah for almost a year and this is the best hotel I have stayed in to date. The staff is extra friendly, the food is good in the little restaurant, and the location is very convenient. My only complaint is that the beds are a bit too hard for my taste, but that's a very minor gripe. I've stayed there at least 5 times and it has been a great experience every time. It's a great hotel that is usually reasonably priced.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Good day Greg R,
Thank you very much for the great review of our property. Our staff and Chef wil be excited to hear that we meet your expectations. Next time you stay with us, please ask for a King Bedroom as these are all equipped beds that you can adjust between hard and soft setting for your comfort. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel is located close to everything, including the airport. The staff was very helpful at recommending good restaurants, and directions. The restaurant provided a very good selection of all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet, and their omalets were great! Fitness center had plenty of exercise equipment for a complete workout, and the pool is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvf_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear jvf_13,
thank you so much for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. It is great to hear that you found our hotel conveniently located with the right amenities. My chef will be excited to hear that breakfast met your expectations and also the food selection for dinner.
We hope to see you back next time you are in Salt Lake City. Thank you for your business.
Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our family booked a staycation here at the Hilton Garden Inn and it did not disappoint. Tripadvisor is what lead is to this hotel. Wonderful front desk service, 24 hour clean, warm pool, 24 hour fitness center and the best breakfast ever! Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear familytraveler123,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your staycation here with us. We are also very happy that you were able to use so many of our ammenties. We hope that you choose to stay with us again soon.

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel is very clean. When staff notices a guest they stop whatever they are doing to assure the guest has been taken care of. The food at most hotels does not have the selection or the quality that this one does.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Patty Z,

thank you so much for your time and sending us a review. We appreciate all your kind comments. We pride ourselves in keeping the hotel clean. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our food selection in Great american grill and the food quality.
We hope to see you back next time you are in Salt Lake City.
Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 250 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hilton Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing