We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were impressed by the helpful staffand the very nice room. The hotel offered many amenities that we didn't have a chance to take advantage of. We did make use of the business center and the free wi-fi though and it was helpful and convenient for us. We had a good stay at a good price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank muddy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear muddy61,
thank you so much so taking the time and reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your business. I am glad you found our hotel very nice. I am also happy you were able to use our business center and a complimentary wifi.
We would love to welcome you at our hotel next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    250
    46
    10
    11
See reviews for
277
359
54
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lander
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We make regular trips to Salt Lake City and this is the best hotel hands down. The staff is helpful and friendly, the rooms are beautiful and quiet and the location is excellent for walking around downtown. There's a great Japanese restaurant next door and a Starbucks coffee as well. The only problem we've ever had was with a colder than usual pool, but the management went over and beyond to apologize and offer return deals for us, so it seems like a minimal problem. The whirlpool suites are ideal for couples or families - they are essentially 2 rooms with a huge hot tub/whirlpool in the bedroom that is big enough for a family of four! Its a great place and easy to see why they've won so many awards. You won't be sorry staying there...and if there are problems, the management will make it right, which is becoming more and more of a rarity these days.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Becky C,
Thank you for such a nice and amazing review about the Hilton Garden Inn downtown Salt Lake City. We love hearing positive feedback it puts a smile on the employee’s faces but also makes us all continue to work together and also so hard. Aren't the Whirlpool Suites amazing? They really are perfect for families and for any occasion really! Thank you so much for all the kind words and we hope to welcome you back to the HGI in Salt Lake. We want this hotel to be our guest’s home away from home and we want everyone to feel welcome and love staying with us!
Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our birthday trip that we do every year to SLC. We always stay at the Hilton SLC center, but this is better than all the other hiltons in the area.We will be coming back, and we probably will stay at Hilton Garden Inn again. Even on trip advisor i think this should rank #1 of all 78 hotels in the area instead of #2. But i am pretty sure you guys are working very hard to get there.

Well at first when we arrived might be the front desk person didn't see us first and started checking in people who were in line after us. As soon the other person welcomed us and started the check in process the first agent apologized us for taking the person behind us to check in first. BTW the person who checked us in was the GM of the hotel.As soon as she knew it was our birthday trip she upgraded us to the Jacuzzi suite. That room was just awesome. A huge living area, spacious bathroom and neatly appointed amenities in the room.

We always stay at Hilton, but this hotel outshines them all. The decor is fabulous and the amenities are great.You could tell attention was paid to every detail in this hotel from decor to cleanliness. The business section had several computers and copiers for your use. I used the breakfast area each morning as they also provided us with free breakfast vouchers.You can either order hot food from the menu or enjoy the breakfast spread or do both. The rooms were very large and comfortable and were kept very clean by the housekeeping staff.Evening prior to my birthday hotel had decided to deliver a bottle of champagne along with the surprise birthday cake my wife had ordered. Well the champagne did not make it to the room for some reason (I will come back to this later) Next morning at breakfast table probably the whole F&B staff along with GM brought me a birthday cake to my table and sang a birthday song for me. Sounds too filmy but trust me you like all the attention on your birthday and its a different feeling-you feel very special.

So we did come back to the room, me and my wife decided to call the GM and thank her for great gesture. She mentioned it was all to make it special and since the champagne wasn't delivered due to some mix up so they decided to start my day with a special cake.

Everyone at the hotel and the GM is so efficient at their work. I promise less than a day or hours i should say, hotel's GM would write a great response to this review. And as you might see she has mentioned her valuable comments on almost each and every review mentioned here on this page.

Enough said-this was a great stay ever and we'll come back again for my wife's birthday in June.

DS

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear travel2806,

thank you so much for such a great review of our property and our staff. We appreciate you taking the time. I am so happy to hear despite the mix up with the champagne you had a great stay with us. I really want my guest to feel special while they are here especially on their birthdays!.
I am glad to hear you will be coming back. So please feel free you contact me if I can ever assist you next time you are in Salt Lake City, UT.
And many many more....

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel and chain is always a solid performer. I was pleased that entire staff was helpful and efficient. Rooms were very well appointed and very quiet. Morning breakfast had a large selection and well prepared.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear szulczewski,
Here at the Hilton Garden Inn we all work together and so hard to please our guests and make everyone feel as if they are at their home away from home. That truly is our goal here. That is our entire staff from the housekeepers to the front desk, to the restaurant and the management. It is very important to us. I am excited to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. I really do think it is the best and the chefs put in a lot of work and time to make it perfect. Please stay with us again if you are ever in the Salt Lake area!
Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
182 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is definitely a good choice. Just some 15min away from the airport and close to downtown, it offers a spacious room, modern furnished, with a very comfortable bed (i loved to sleep longer), compl. Wifi, good TV program. Although the breakfast isnt free, but u got quite some choices.

Room Tip: Stayed 2nd floor, quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joergstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Joergstravel,
Thank you for such a nice review, it sounds like you had a nice stay with us. That is what we like to hear! We all work very hard to keep our property looking clean and new and also having our rooms like nice. I am glad you took advantage of our free wireless internet as well. I hope next time you are in Salt Lake City you stay with us again! We love having guests return time and time again.
Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel was fantastic, with beautiful and spacious clean rooms. Free parking and WIFI, room service which served food that was reasonably priced. Along with a great gym and swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Staff on the front desk were very good just wish we could have stayed longer than just the one night. I would defiantly recommend if wanting to stay in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_and_Matt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Katie_and_Matt6,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about the HGI downtown Salt Lake City. It is always nice to hear guests taking advantage of our free amenities. Such as the 24 hour pool, Jacuzzi and fitness room also the wireless! I think those are great perks to our hotel and love to hear when guests use them. We hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks again.
Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We stay at HG Inns whenever possible. The beds are comfortable, rooms large. It is great to have a full restaurant on site, we took advantage of free breakfasts in lieu of extra HH points. This locations lives up to our expectations. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barryandjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear barryandjoan,
As guests who travel a lot and stay at different HGI properties often I am glad you decided to stay at our property and I am even happier to hear you enjoyed yourselves. Our kitchen staff and chefs work so hard to make our breakfast and dinner great and it is always nice to hear good feed back! Thank you for all your kind words! Next time you are in Salt Lake City please stay with us again.
Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.4 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 250 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hilton Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing