We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a central location - good for international travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a central location – good for international travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here at the start & end of our trip to Grand Teton and Yellowstone. This is a high quality hotel located only 15 minutes from the airport in a quiet location, with good access to freeway and close to the city centre. Large modern clean rooms with pleasant relaxing decor, very quiet, free Wi-Fi and comfortable beds. The hotel is not far from the tram network located just a few blocks down, which is free within this zone and in a matter of minutes speeds you into the centre not far from the shops, banks and the Temple and is great for getting around. The front desk staff are very welcoming and extremely helpful. The breakfast restaurant service and food selection was excellent and not overpriced. There’s plenty of parking outside too, Starbucks / Subway are just next door and across the road. There is also a free shuttle transfer to the airport which we found very useful for picking up a hire car and return flights etc. A very good place to stay when visiting down town Salt Lake City I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DES32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear DES32,
First of all thank you for staying at the HGI Downtown, we know when booking your stay in Salt Lake you had plenty of options in the area. Second, it sounds like you had a nice stay with us! I am glad to hear you took advantage of so many of our amenities. I think our free wireless internet is a great thing to have for all of our guests! It does also help that we are conveniently located in the downtown area and that we are right next to a Starbucks! We hope if you get a chance to make it back to Utah, you choose to stay at our property. Thanks again for the kind words.
Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    251
    46
    10
    11
See reviews for
277
359
54
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Everyone we encountered at this hotel went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. We spent two nights before traveling to the Tetons and Yellowstone. One of the reasons we selected this hotel was their free airport shuttle. We called when we arrived for pickup and were dropped off at the airport rental car section two days later which meant we didn't have to pay for a rental car to sit in a parking lot.

The check-in went smoothly. We were provided with a map that showed us where we could pick up the free Trax service to Temple Square. The cookies provided were a great treat after a day of travel. The hotel and our room in particular were very clean. The room was large with a comfortable king bed and sofa. I made the mistake of putting some water and soda in the refrigerator only to discover when leaving that it was either not on or working. The bathroom was good size with excellent water pressure in the shower.

We pre-paid $5 extra per person for breakfast which included everything in the cold buffet as well as the made-to-order menu. The choices were excellent. Here again the hostess and waitress were friendly and attentive. People skills are very strong at this hotel.

I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenGirl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear GardenGirl97,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our property and our staff. We all work so hard to come together and make all of our guests feel welcome, and that they are taken care of during their stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. It sounds like we took care of you from the check in process to breakfast the next morning! We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Salt Lake City. Thank you again for your time.
Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the HGI for just one night at the start of our driving holiday. The friendly welcome and obliging service from all of the hotel staff got our holiday off to a great staff. Our Evolution room was large, comfortable, quiet and had all the amenities you would expect. We had breakfast at the hotel which was freshly cooked and excellent. The free airport shuttle made our stay even better value for money, we waited no more than 10 minutes after picking up our bags. We walked into downtown from the hotel which was easy but longish on a very hot day. There is a free shuttle bus which can be picked up about 2 blocks away.All in all - very impressed with the HGI.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My4Jays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with friendly service and clean spacious rooms. I'm glad to see you were able to enjoy the full cook to order breakfast and took advantage of our free airport shuttle.
Even though you were here only a short time, it sounds like we were able to show you how to get around on the Trax line and you got to see downtown as well.
I hope the rest of your vacation was wonderful and if you are ever in the Salt Lake area again you will stay with us.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Extremely welcoming and helpful front desk staff. Super clean. Rooms quiet and of a very high standard. Free parking right outside. Just a bit too far from the downtown sights to walk but it doesn't seem like SLC is a place anybody walks much anyway. We didn't have the breakfast but there are plenty of options nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PF2UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear PF2UK,

thank you so much for taking the time and sending in a review about us. I am so happy to hear that you found our front desk staff extremely helpfull and welcoming. We pride ourselves in going the extra mile and taking care of all of our guests. Isn't it great to find free parking downtown? We share the parking lot with adjacent Starbucks and Last Samurai.
We are little bit further from downtown but located off the freeway exit for your convenience.
We appreciate your business and we hope to see you back soon in Salt Lake City.

Sincerely,

Marianna Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We booked two nights here, based on TA reviews and were not disappointed.
We had a large room with king bed, sofa and easy chair. The bathroom is a little small for the size of room, but you don't live in do you? Everything was clean and well presented and the bed was comfortable with nice bedding.
Breakfast was included in our deal and had plenty of choice. We also ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. There was a good menu choice and service was great. Prices reasonable, portions large!
The service from the front desk staff was superb, nothing was too much trouble and we were given plenty of useful advice about the city and it's surroundings to help our visit.
The hotel is a little distance from the downtown area, but a short walk takes you to the tram service - 2 stops to Temple Square and travel in the central area is free.
All in all I can happily recommend this hotel. I don' t think anyone would be disappointed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear kiwiuk,

thank you for your review of our hotel. Tripadvisor is a great resource for those warriors on the road! We are glad that you found our rooms spacious and clean. My chef will be excited to hear that you had breakfast and dinner with us and enjoyed quality, selection and pricing.
Our front desk is knowledgable about the city and we are happy to show you around so you have the best time in Salt Lake City.
We appreciate your business and please come see us again next time you are here!

Sincerely,

Marianna Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I picked this hotel based off of reviews from trip advisor and was not disappointed! This hotel was great! The staff was wonderful! The room was very clean and comfortable! The breakfast at the hotel was great! I would recommend this hotel and will stay there in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Rachael L,

I am so happy to hear that we hold up to all the reviews on Tripadvisor and that you were not disappointed. If I ever be of your assistance please let me know.
We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Marianna Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hotel is well situated for resturants and Downtown, free tram five minutes walk away from hotel.
Rooms very good clean & good size, staff most helpful and friendly, good place to stay for Park City and Winter Olympic site about 40 mins away, good shopping Downtown and Temple area a must.

Room Tip: Ask for back room quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vic f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Vic F,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about our hotel. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with clean spacious rooms and friendly service.
We are a great spot for skiing due to being right off the freeway exits and only 35 -40 minutes to Park City, Snowbird, Solitude, Alta, Brighton and still downtown to enjoy amazing foor choices.
We appreciate your business and look forward to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Marianna Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.4 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 250 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hilton Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing