We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for the price”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The room price was a bargain for the quality of the hotel. The public spaces were very attractive. I appreciated having a dining area available for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food was good. The employees I encountered were friendly and efficient. The bed was comfortable. Because I get too warm in the duvet covers that this hotel and others often use on the beds, I requested a thin blanket and one was brought to my room. The room contained a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker but there was no safe, which I would have liked. The lighting was good in the room and in the bathroom and the showerhead was one of the best I have seen. The cookies they set out around 5 pm are delicious? I would recommend this hotel, particularly for someone with a car. It was about a 20 minute walk to Temple Square where I was doing research at the Family History Library. It was quite hot and it was not fun walking back and forth pulling my business case behind me in the heat. I decided to move to a hotel downtown near Temple Square where I could walk back and forth easily and take breaks during the day. The downtown is quite charming and fun to explore. It's one of the nicest and cleanest cities I've visited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingbarb2-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear travelingbarb2-2,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property and thank you for the kind words. We do our best to make all of our guests feel welcome, and also keep our property looking clean and like new! You are right, we do not have safes in the room but we do have a small wall of safes behind the front desk. We would have been more than glad to keep anything you would have liked in the safe behind the desk where only you would have had a key. Maybe next time! Also, I know we are not in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City and Temple Square is a bit of a stretch but we would have been more than glad to call you a cab or even direct you to the TRAX station which runs every 10 minutes and is only 4 1/2 blocks away from the hotel. I am glad to see you took advantage to the amenities we have in the room and very glad to hear you enjoyed them. We hope if you make it back to Salt Lake City you will choose to stay with us again. We would love to welcome you back to the Hilton Garden Inn!
Marianna Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    257
    46
    10
    11
See reviews for
287
373
58
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Took the family to Salt Lake City for a few night and stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn. The room was extremely comfortable and clean, the kids LOVE the pool and the fitness center is well stocked. The staff was extremely friendly and made us feel welcomed from the moment we walked in. Highly recommend this place! If I was to travel to SLC on business I would stay here as well. Perfect all the way around.

Room Tip: The pool has noodles and diving rings for the kids - nice touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear mrgills,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown, we know you and your family had a lot of choices within the area. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel as well! We like for all of our guests to feel as though they are at their second home whenever they stay at the Hotel. We want everyone to feel welcome and comfortable! Glad to hear your kids enjoyed our 24 hour amenities such as the pool and state of the arts fitness room! If you and your family or even just you are traveling for business we hope to welcome you all back to the HGI!
Marianna Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

When we saw our room, we couldn't believe the price value we were getting! It was only $10-20 more for the whirlpool room, so we went for it. I'm so glad we did! The room was beautifully decorated, very quiet, and very relaxing. We had a great long weekend in Salt Lake, and this room was the perfect place to escape to at the end of the day. Our bedroom had the whirlpool, and we also had a separate sitting room. I think the prices were a little lower, as we went at the very end of ski season, but I still can't get over the value for our money! We were perfectly located in town, near restaurants and shopping. We had breakfast in the restaurant. It was very good and reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. The entire hotel felt quiet, new, and had the quality Hilton service you expect. (I'm a service snob and work in hospitality, and I won't return places that offer mediocre or bad service.) When we return to Salt Lake, we'll definitely stay here again! Thanks for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aduncan722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Aduncan722,
Aren't the whirlpool suites nice?! I am glad to hear you loved the room because it is a great room that we have to offer guests at the hotel. Depending on the time you stay with us always depends on the rate but it is usually only $10-$20 more a night to stay in this room! We do have great breakfast and dinner here at the hotel and our cooks work hard to make sure the food meets guest’s expectations every time! All of our employees are trained by Hilton to give the Hilton service guests are expecting and I am glad we accomplished that for you! We pride ourselves on keeping our hotel clean and keeping our guests happy and giving them anything and everything they need. We hope next time you are in Salt Lake City you stay with us! We love it when we have guests who continue to visit us time after time!
Marianna Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were passing through on our way back from Big Sky Montana and needed a place to stay for the night. We are glad we did.
This hotel was very nice and very friendly. After pulling it up on Tripadvisor, we pulled in.
We had a king bed room on the 3rd floor. Very clean and well layed out. Desk with the most comfortable chair ever. My husband is researching it, to buy one for himself. A small coffee bar, small but clean bathroom with granite counters. Shower no tub. Nice.
This hotel is located near some sort of amphitheater. We heard the music, but were able to sleep just fine. We were located near the front of the hotel.
There is room service, we did not use it. There is a restaurant/cafe near the lobby. We got a breakfast to go and it was still delicious.
We had such a quick stay I can't offer more info, but I would stay here again in a second.
Thank you .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here three nights in June 2012. It's a standard HGI with the usual clean rooms and nondescript furniture. Front desk staff is very friendly. The location is good and the price is reasonable, but it is not anything exceptional. The beds are not comfortable (inflatable type mattresses that are only tolerable at the hardest setting.) The breakfast 'bait and switch' is unexpected in that they charge $12 for really poorly prepared food. It is within walking distance of downtown and some other really great hotels. Overall it's a fair value, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear BenW,
We thank you for staying with us in June which we know you have plenty of choices in the downtown Salt Lake City area. Our employees and front desk try their hardest to make all of our guests feel welcome and to help the guests with whatever you need. Thank you for the kind words and noticing the desk staff. Our adjustable beds are Hilton made beds with different setting to control the bed type to your comfort, I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy them. As of right now we only have those beds in our King rooms so maybe next time you could stay in our room with 2 Queens. Our cooks work hard to make sure our guests expectations are satisfied when it comes to breakfast and dinner in our restaurant. If you get a chance to return to Salt Lake City we hope to welcome you back and maybe change your mind about our hotel and show you why we have received the 'Connie' award 3 years in a row now for being the best Hilton Garden Inn. I appreciate your feedback and thank you for your time to write a review about our property!
Marianna Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Staff were wonderful and the room was excellent (clean, spacious, comfortable beds). Definitely a positive experience for our family of five. Breakfast was expansive and filling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanskooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Vanskooten,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. I am pleased to hear you and your family of five enjoyed your time at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Salt Lake City. We pride ourselves on keeping our property clean and looking new. Our staff truly enjoys coming to work every day because of guests like you. We hope if you come back to the Salt Lake area we can welcome you back to the hotel again.
Marianna Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

It is hard to remember a hotel with a more congenial and helpful staff! Everyone couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. The room was large and well-appointed and very comfortable. The hotel is walking distance to the important sights in downtown SLC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrovelandCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Hi TheGrovelandCatLady,
First off, thank you so much for taking the time to write about our property here on Trip advisor. It is so nice to hear someone speak so highly about our property and our staff. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel welcome and feel as though they are at their second home. They truly enjoy working here and helping the guests with whatever they need. Although the hotel isn't in the 'heart' of downtown we are not fair from a lot of the sightseeing places and restaurants downtown. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back!
Marianna Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 250 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hilton Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing