We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Our family of 5 spent Thanksgiving week at this new property. Rooms were large and clean. Our suite included two queen beds, and a sofa bed in the main room, a full kitchen with pots and pans, microwave and refrigerator. Staff was friendly and helpful. Free breakfast and dinner served during the week saved a lot on our travel budget. Not to mention free beer and wine!

Parking was free in the garage below the building. The only negative is that the neighborhood is sketchy, with the state liquor store and homeless shelter only a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrentwoodBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 851 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2009

I had a great stay, the staff was very friendly. The hotel is in a great location right in downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topgun69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the Homewood Suites for 2 nights. The check in staff was very welcoming and everyone there was friendly. It was only a block to the Gateway Mall and across the street from the Farmer's Market on Saturday. The Trax station was also only a block and a half from the hotel, so it was convenient for getting to temple square or the other downton areas. The hotel was very clean and had the very nice furnishings an decor. It looked like an expensive hotel even though it was moderately priced. The only thing lacking was an airport shuttle, but there was free parking in the garage for our vehicle. The free breakfast was outstanding and had so many choices. There were many hot entrtees and they went way beyond the ususal pastries and coffee. It is a very quiet hotel, and even though it was booked solid, you hardly heard anyone. The kitchen was well stocked and they even put a package of microwave popcorn with the oher amenities. We had a 1 bedroom suite and it was like a little apartment. Nice HD TV's.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We spent the last two days of our vacation here. We ate out every meal so I didn't use the kitchen...seemed to have everything you'd need though. The buffet breakfast was pretty good. Eggs, bagels/toast, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, cottage cheese, pastries, coffee/tea/cocoa, juice. For our family of 4 we'd pay $35-$40 for a breakfast like that out!

Our room was directly across from a door to the outside rooftop pool and spad (3rd floor). Our boys loved that. They also loved the fold out coach...they were tired of sharing a bed, and were thrilled to be able to separate.

This was a mostly a national park vacation, so we didn't have our computers with us. Really appreciated being able to access the internet on the hotel computers in the business center, to check on email.

There's a Trax light rail stop 2 blocks up, at the Gateway mall/planitarium. That's the easiest way to get to Temple square.

Parking garage underneath, free.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russell-benoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

16 people in our family had 2 suites, which each had 2 bedrooms. (One with a King, One with 2 Queens and then the sofa bed in the living room) The rooms were spacious even though we had lots of luggage. Even the sofa bed was comfortable--I had a hard time believing a sofa bed could ever feel like a regular bed-amazing! Breakfast was varied and met the needs of both kids and elders and those of us in between. Rooms were quiet, parking was a dream. We arrived by Amtrak and if we had known how easy it was, we could have walked from the station--it was that close. We all wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChautauquaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Homewood Suites are always nice large rooms with excellent breakfast/lobby areas. I expected no less from this one. I goofed and made my reservation for the wrong dates. The good--the clerk got us a room in the very full hotel. The bad--it's a smoking room and it REEKS! Worse--no way to get something for the smell without driving outside of downtown. Be very specific that you do not want a smoking room.

Location: Good--just a few blocks from most downtown attractions and shopping. Bad--downtown snaps shut at 6:00, except for the Gateway Shopping Center. Worse--the couple blocks between the shopping center and the hotel are the homeless shelter. None of the drunks or homeless bothered us, but if you can't deal with them sitting around the area all day and night, pick another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WetSactraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This is a nice Homewood, typical large rooms with fridge, dishwasher, stove, ... The location is OK, just on the edge of the nice part of town, if you go east you are good, if you go west even one block you are in a slightly shady part of town.
My biggest beef is with this "No party" disclaimer that they require every guest to sign before they assign you your room. Even if you are a HHonors Gold with hundreds of stays in Hilton properties (and by the way, a military officer in uniform while checking in), they treat you like a child by requiring you to sign a form stating that you understand you won't "party" in you room and if you do you'll be kicked out and not receive a refund. I've pretty much established that I don't party in my room, and I don't expect to be insulted by being required to read and sign a form stating that I won't. Moreover, in all the hotel stays I've had over the past several years I've never seen anything similar. For this reason alone I won't be staying here again. Not sure why a Homewood in Salt Lake City, of all places, thinks they need this kind of extreme measure to stop the horrible "party" people, but they've gone too far.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
Thank CG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
5.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#13 of 77 in Salt Lake City
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Dow...
#40 of 77 in Salt Lake City
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 423 West 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#19 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#27 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $122 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new unique and 8-time award-winning Homewood Suites by Hilton is one of Salt Lake's newest and finest all suite hotels. We are located in the heart of the vibrant Gateway district. You are within walking distance of all of the city's finest restaurants, shops, and entertainment. In addition the hotel is situated within minutes of Salt Lake's business district, airport, and governmental offices. Make the Homewood Suites Salt Lake City Downtown your "Home away from Home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites, Slc Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Homewood Suites Salt Lake City
Homewood Salt Lake City
Hilton Salt Lake City
Homewood Suites Downtown
Salt Lake City Hilton
Salt Lake City Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing