We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, horrible homeless problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, United States
1 review
“Nice hotel, horrible homeless problem”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family. The homeless surround this hotel, occupying the streets, parks and sidewalks. Not a family friendly experience. The hotel was nice, the room was just as I had expected from the website photo's, the service was great, parking garage was well lit and felt safe. It was close to the free tram around downtown, close to a nice mall and the IMAX. The homeless population was overwhelming and uncomfortable. My kids shouldn't have to experience people doing Heroin at the park!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeSuiteHome423, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
On behalf of our entire hotel team, we are so sorry for the homeless population experience you had. We also thank you for taking the time to write a kind and fair review about the hotel. As a management team we are proactively seeking ways to address the homeless population in the area so that our guests don't have the same experience you had. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    214
    99
    43
    34
See reviews for
241
125
33
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I got a king+2 Queen Large Suite and a Studio King Suite and both the rooms were great! There is a stovetop, microwave, fridge, and cooking pans if you want to use the kitchen. There is breakfast as well, which we didn't have but its nice to have the option.

The service was above and beyond. I made a mistake that could have ruined my weekend, and Amber at the front desk went above and beyond to make everything right! After speaking with her, I had no doubt what type of organization she works for! Alberto at the front desk was also amazing!

Parking is free. The hotel is close to metro stops and walking distance to some fun SLC night spots. Use a PediCab if you don't want to walk. because cabs in downtown, especially on the weekends can be hard to come by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlissPriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeSuiteHome423, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our team members Amber and Alberto so that we can celebrate and applaud them for making your stay amazing! We love to hear about these experiences so we know we are on the right track and can continue successfully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigo, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

From check-in to check-out, the service and facilities were excellent; as they always are at any Homewood Suites. I was 5 minutes walking distance from a shopping center, movie theater, and countless restaurants. Will absolutely stay here again on my next business trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeSuiteHome423, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We are so happy to hear we were an exellent stay for you and we look forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west Spfld, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Easy Access to and from the Interstate. Inside Garage Parking. Friendly Staff and Great Amenities. My wife and I stay here every year. for skiing. Discount ski Tickets available, Great Breakfast too! It is so convenient for us to ski different resorts, 35 Minutes! also we love Theater, Sports and history! Go the State Capital, Hale Theater and the Grizzlies Hockey all 15 minutes by car! See you there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeSuiteHome423, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Our entire team appreciates this great review you have provided for our hotel! Sounds like our location was perfect for all of your fun activities while here with us. Thank you and hope to see you next year or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We knew we wanted a suite to be able to spread out and relax (plus, the bedrooms in suites always seem to be quieter than a one bedroom, because it's not directly adjoining the hallway). We were looking at other Hiltons, but they were 2-3 times the price. I was extremely hesitant to book this room, because 1) going cheaper can lots of times be a mistake with hotel rooms and 2) this hotel has smoker-friendly rooms. The hotel lobby was surprisingly modern and the room was, while outdated and could use newer furniture, very comfortable and quiet. I was surprised and relieved to have never detected any smoke anywhere in the room or hotel. I would never have known it offers smoker friendly rooms. Could be luck, could be the floor we were on (top floor). Definitely worth the money and definitely somewhere we would stay again. On another note, their pillows were less than comfortable. I did not sleep well at all, because of the lack of support they gave.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeSuiteHome423, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We love to hear from our guests and will work on areas we can improve upon. Thank you for making the choice to stay with us, and we hope you come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I wanted to thank the excellent staff at this hotel. I needed to extend my stay by 2 days and the hotel was sold out but the front desk found a way to make it happen. I really appreciated all the hard work. The facilities are top notch and the hotel is beautiful. The welcome home reception was always on point. I will always recommend this hotel when traveling on business or pleasure.
Thank you so much!!! :-)
Brian S. AKA RM638

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeSuiteHome423, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We are so happy your stay turned out so well, thank you for sharing the kind review and we are most happy that you stayed with us an extra two days! We hope you come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night with our two young children. We knew that a complimentary dinner was provided, but I assumed it would be unappetizing and we planned to eat elsewhere. We decided to check out the food before leaving the hotel and, much to our surprise, it looked good! The salad bar was great and had lots of variety, and the hot items were tasty. Most surprisingly, free beer and wine was included! We were blown away. Breakfast the next morning was a pretty good egg dish (not those gross powdered eggs that most hotels serve), fresh fruit, and other continental breakfast staples.
Our room was perfect for our needs. One kid slept on the pullout couch, they brought us a crib for the other, and we were able to shut the door to our bedroom and leave the lights on after putting the kids to bed. The room was very clean, well-decorated, and comfortable.
In our down time, we walked down to the Clarke Planetarium at the Gateway Mall. Very nice to be so close. Yes, there were lots of homeless people, but we felt safe during the day. Wouldn't have walked around after dark.
This was our first experience staying at a Homewood Suites and we were totally blown away. The quality of the food, layout and size of the rooms, and convenient location really added up to a great value for us. By staying there, we avoided having to eat out for two meals, which is quite a savings for a family of four. We keep telling friends and family about how great it was and will definitely seek out other Homewood Suites as we travel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Good_Life09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeSuiteHome423, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
What a wonderful discovery! We hope that you will continue to stay with Homewood Suits as we are an incredible value. We would love to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Dow...
#42 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Address: 423 West 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#19 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#31 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new unique and 8-time award-winning Homewood Suites by Hilton is one of Salt Lake's newest and finest all suite hotels. We are located in the heart of the vibrant Gateway district. You are within walking distance of all of the city's finest restaurants, shops, and entertainment. In addition the hotel is situated within minutes of Salt Lake's business district, airport, and governmental offices. Make the Homewood Suites Salt Lake City Downtown your "Home away from Home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites, Slc Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Homewood Suites Salt Lake City
Homewood Salt Lake City
Hilton Salt Lake City
Homewood Suites Downtown
Salt Lake City Hilton
Salt Lake City Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing