We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monday specials”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mikado

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mikado
Ranked #728 of 1,385 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Monday specials”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Sushi was good. Not bad, but maybe not the most amazing. But really the pull is the reasonable prices for the quality you get, and they do have a small flare for super spicy "challenge" rolls. They also used to have a decent selection of rolls for discount on Mondays. Not sure if that is still going on.

If you want to be a big boy or are a sucker for challenges, do the Death Roll challenge. If you're habituated to very spicy peppers, then the habenero extract they put into your tuna roll won't go over too bad. Otherwise, it's going to leave a chemical burn in your mouth that won't go away for 10-15 minutes. Good luck.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank John_Gaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SLC, Utah
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average sushi / teriyaki place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Decent food, but nothing to write home about. Left satisfied but feeling like I was looking forward to going again. When thinking of places to go have lunch with friends/colleagues, it's not on my list even though it's right across the street! Service is decent, but can be hit-or-miss.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcsfla
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Sushi is pretty good, the specials make it great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

I have been going to Mikado for years and have probably taken my partners and employees here at least 20 or 30 times. On Mondays and Tuesdays they price their sushi pretty much 50% off. The playboy roll is awesome and for some reason I really like the way that they do the spicy tuna roll.

Huge fan of Mikado on Monday's and Tuesday's. If I were paying full price or looking for the best sushi around, I would probably go to Happy Sumo.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcsfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, and average sushi...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

You will have a good experience. The food is average... not bad, but I have had better.... Favorite place... Flying Sumo in Park City!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilike2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mikado used to be the restaurant I like...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Mikado used to be the restaurant I like, until I went to the Bountiful one today! The food is not that good. The service is even worst for not a busy day. Nobody seem to have a good atitude. They do not seem to care, included the manager! We do not once get our water fill and so do get the to go box that we asking for a couple times. And check out your change if you pay your meal by cash, they short our change by $35.00 dollars and act like it not that big of the deal !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dragonlady2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikado also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Midvale, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing