We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Iguana

Red Iguana
Ranked #4 of 1,385 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This place is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have been coming here for years, this place has the best food around. The line goes out the door someday's. It is a cute place I love all the decor, very friendly service. Great drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MHamrick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,040
    639
    204
    60
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real Mexican, Real Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is fantastic! It was pouring rain when we got there and were immediately offered an umbrella. There's a good vibe there and the inside is full of funk and people enjoying good food. We took others' advice on here and asked for the mole sampler platter. This is a MUST...each sauce is complex and different from the next. I chose the chicken simmered in the pumpkin mole and my husband had the almond mole over shredded beef. Both were phenomenal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malbeclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Everyone in Salt Lake knows that if you want authentic, delicious Mexican food, you go to Red Iguana. It is usually busy, but that's because the food is wonderful. The area it is in is considered a little "rough", but don't let that stop you from trying the best Mexican food in Salt Lake!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over-rated but not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food has some heat... but the flavor is just pretty average for Mexican food. I like it but it's over-priced and a huge let down after hearing everyone rave about it. I'd go back but not often as there are other Mexican places around Salt Lake that are better and more affordable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del ray ,fla
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were able to get reservations w/six people. The service is outstanding and the waiter was very personable. He brought two small plates of moles to sample which helped us decide on what to order. You can also mix and match the moles w/the meats. Three of us ordered the lomos (rolled stuffed pork loin) it was delicious!!!!! Another person ordered the shrimp which looked very plentiful. While the first mole dish on the menu (a chicken entree) came out very spicy...a bit too much for my liking. Overall this was a nice experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sk1gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Iguana also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Red Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing