We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is the best mexican food i've ever had”
Review of Red Iguana

Red Iguana
Ranked #5 of 1,390 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“this is the best mexican food i've ever had”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

wow. wonderful service - i said i wanted to try everything, and the server gave us a free 7 mole sampler to test the moles out, let us split two of them (pumpkin seed and traditional black mole) over chicken..and we got a "tasting platter" to sample some of the other dishes. i am always happy when i laugh outloud at dinner because it's so good. this was one of those times. i can't wait to go back to SLC to eat more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,105
    655
    211
    61
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The food was excellent and the server kept our drinks full. The atmosphere is pretty authentic which makes the whole experience pretty cool.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mzpiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long long wait but well worth it”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just the wait time, but you can expect that from any really good popular restaurants. Famous for their mole, they give you good service and huge portions.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank slcroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
358 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Enuff already, it's 5 star- just go!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Out of this world Mexican. The service is great, the margueritas are heavenly, the only complaint I have is the free chips & salsa. Nothing great, but for the price of the food-that's ok. 3of us, 5marguritas,2big size beers, tostadas, enchiladas, pork something? All for $80.00. Unreal. The steak thing featured is great. My sister ate there 5 times or so in 3 weeks..just go, have a blast. You'll have to wait, so what? ot's scary cheap. My enchilada casserole was about $ 8.00, green salsa, creamy & wonderful....xoox

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hafkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mexican Cuisine that rivals Los Angeles”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was on business travel to the Salt Lake City area and had heard about the Red Iguana from several locals. While I am not typically a Mole fan - I was given the recommendation by the waitress and also provided samples of the sauces to try. Needless to say if you have been there they are all amazing. I also had a jalapeno margarita and of course could not resist the guacamole. Make sure you get there at a reasonable time and expect to wait a bit as they do not take reservations and the wait can sometimes get long.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayGoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Iguana also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Red Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing