We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait...and you WILL wait...”

Beehive Tea Room and Wedding Library
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Seating
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth the wait...and you WILL wait...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

After walking around downtown SLC, UT, my partner and I came across the Beehive Tea Room after looking for a coffee house that was opened on a Sunday to no avail. We decided to go with their Chai as we had read that this was their signature drink. The woman asked if we would like to have a seat or take it to go. If you have some time on your hands, the seating is quirky. I would recommend a booth if they are available, but we settled on a small table towards the back of the restaurant. We waited for our drinks for approximately 45 minutes after ordering them. Luckily, we were going over our previous day's activities and were able to make our plans for the day ahead of us. Now, onto the review of the Chai....it was definitely worth the wait. The complexity of the spices that they use in the drink was apparent. Definitely a rich and smooth taste...and this is coming from two coffee snobs from Seattle!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMonkey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steilacoom, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best chai around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I am in SLC for a training and happened upon the Beehive Tea Room. What a wonderful find!! I came back the next day for a delicious green tea chai latte. Yagatta try it!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D_Otter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Went with my daughter and husband for a late morning cup of tea. Charming, eclectic, and homey. Spent over an hour drinking pumpkin chai latte, chocolate/orange black tea and hazelnut teas. Daughter and I opted for croissants with nutella while the hubby had fresh , just out of the oven scones! It was all excellent . I would highly recommend this charming tea house for any time of the day or evening!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmdanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

While visiting family in SLC for Thanksgiving, we were trying to find places that were unique and local. We were frustrated that SLC appeared so mall and chain store/restaurant centric. We stumbled upon the Beehive Team Room and found a little treasure. Large selection of excellent tea and good food. Friendly waitstaff. Decor was a fun mix of antiques, Asian and sentimental pieces. A quiet place to talk and relax or work on a laptop. This place made our day!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank masapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Huge dinner rolls with honey butter!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

If you like good, hot, American food, this is the place to go. Had tender pork chops, mashed potatoes, green beens, and the best puffy dinner rolls ever. Don't forget the honey butter; it's with the rest of the condiments at the end of the counter.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sfRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beehive Tea Room and Wedding Library also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing