We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old local favorite”
Review of Cinegrill - CLOSED

Cinegrill
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Salt Lake City
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An old local favorite”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hideaway has been around for decades. Not much to look at but the food is great. My favorites are the yummy salads, the pizza, and the pastrami sandwiches. Not super crowded as the crowd seems to be the older generation. A pianist has been there every time I have been there. It adds a bit of atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Just passing through Salt Lake City and strolling around the city on a beautiful Saturday afternoon and just happened upon this place. They were very slow and we were seated immediately. The place is kinda neat and homey and appears to be located on ground floor of apartment building. The service was terrible as we waited and waited for waitress to take our order. The salad with the house dressing was sub par. Lots of lettuce with one piece of cheese and two slices of pepperoni. The Italian spaghetti was even worse. Nothing Italian about it as I swear it was Chef Boy out of the can. The bread is simply a hamburger bun heated. I give em 2 out of 5 forks! Go somewhere else!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harryscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice surprise with food and location”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Went to lunch for the first time and had the "family style." Great salad, lasagna and spaghetti with marinara, garluc toast, and small pizza. All were flavourful and the serving size was just right. Waitress was attentive and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WGIDIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Still the same - year after year - really good food”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My first experience with Cinegrill was in the 70's when I attended college. The checkered tableclothes and delicious food is why I keep coming back whenever I am visiting Salt Lake City. A family group visited the restaurant for an early Friday night dinner before going to a Jazz game - there was no wait and we were seated right away. Some of us had the lasagna with salad, and others had spagetti or pizzas. We also ordered 1/2 carafes of two different wines. All of us were pleased with our food, although the service was a little slow. Prices are reasonable. I have been ordering the lasagna for 40 plus years, and the recipe hasn't changed - always good! Great for a couples dinner or a gathering of friends and family.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysmovingon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Service and Local Italian Fare”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Cinegrill is one of those often overlooked local gems that is worth stopping in to try. The food on the whole is rather good with their pizzas and pasta dishes really shining. Their "house salad" is heavily tossed with a vinnagrette which you will either love or hate. Service here is second to none and the servers go out of their way to make you feel like family. The server who is the "new girl" has been working there for 8 years, so it's a pretty close knit group. Every night of the week from I think about 7pm to 10pm they have live music from a man on an electric piano that sings. It adds to the great homey atmosphere. Live music, great service, comforting Italian food. Nothing high class here but a great place to unwind and get some good comfort food. Also makes a great date location!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinegrill also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing