We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, interesting food”
Review of Blue Plate Diner

Blue Plate Diner
Ranked #56 of 1,390 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, interesting food”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The food is great here and the atmosphere too. They have very interesting and delicious combinations and a good menu. It also has a lot of vegan and vegetarian options but good meaty option to. A good place for anyone to go for a bite.

Helpful?
Thank cortp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    91
    42
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
255 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Needs a new chef”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

How this place manages to have long lines every weekend is beyond my comprehension. The coffee is worse than macdonald's and the food is tired and bland; no boldness of flavoring at all. I hate to be the bearer of bad news but that's how I see it. There's a place called Eggs in the City not far away and is much better. I'm really hoping Blue Plate gets a new chef soon because I'd like to go back; I like the location and the atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Godby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I could get really fat here!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food was so good and had such large portions. We came for brunch and our table of 6 all had over half of our food left over. I wanted to order everything off the menu! The parking isn't great, and the bathrooms leave something to be desired, but great cafe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank groulxtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Utah
1 review
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

For Labor Day my wife and I decided we would like to treat ourselves to a meal out. My wife is somewhat hard to please when it comes to dinning out and so we spent at least 2 hours looking at restaurants and ratings for restaurants in the area. We wanted somewhere that I could have Chicken Fried Steak and where she could have something that looked good to her. After a great deal of searching, we decided on the Blue Plate Diner. We drove all the way across town to reach our destination. When we arrived the place was packed, but there was still one small table available for immediate seating. We were given a menu, but my wife soon discovered that the Blue Plate Fish-n Chips she had seen on the online menu, was not on the menu we were looking at in the restaurant. She ended up ordering the 7 dollar Onion Rings and I ordered the Chicken Fried Steak with Eggs over easy. Keep in mind the reason we chose the Diner is because they offered Chicken Fried Steak. When the waiter brought my order to the table he set in front of me Bacon, Eggs (one over easy and one up), Potatoes and Toast. Not wanting to make a scene, or wait for a new order, I ate what was given me. My food alright but not in line with the ratings we had seen online. The Onion Rings were all together another story. They were cold, they tasted greasy and were way not worth the 7 dollars they cost. My overall impression... Why was this place rated 4 1/2 stars online?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great diner!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Great diner with nice menu and awesome staff. If you like greasy comfort food... a must try if in Utah!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtobecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Diner also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Blue Plate Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing