We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite seafood”

Market Street Oyster Bar
Ranked #145 of 1,394 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 54 West Market Street
Transit: Public transportation, via TRAX light rail and the Utah Transit Authority coach system, is provided into-and-out of downtown Salt Lake City, with the Gallivan Plaza Station only one-half block from The Oyster Bar's front door. Travelers should take advantage of the transit system's "Free Fare Zone" in The Oyster Bar's downtown area.
Boom, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Exquisite seafood”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

One of the best seafood restaurants in the city. It is expensive but they serve great food. I had the Utah trout, which was perfectly grilled. As an appetizer, do try the superb onion rings - maybe something you would not order in a class restaurant, but they are to die for. A nice selection of wines for reasonable prices. Not a scenery view, so do not bother to sit at the window. I had a taste of the tuna Japanese style and I'm sure to order that the next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustaaf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    53
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
slc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Best bloody mary's in town”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Bar opens at 10 am. Great brunch. Amazing oysters and half off appetizers from 4-6 pm. I go once a month. Jimmy is great

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SlcPubcrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

2nd time there. Outstanding food & service. I had oyster Rockefeller & shrimp scampi. Yum. I own a restaurant in another state & recognize quality. This has been great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

always good, fun place to eat and visit.
We went downtown after the NCAA tourney. Had a great time.

The problem was the following day we noticed our car had been wrecked in the Valet parking.
They were slammed with customers and failed to tell us of the damage. Now I have to prove the damage was not there. I Went to Oyster Bar management. Not there problem.
Be very careful, I never knew you had to walk around your car and perform a complete inspection before driving off the lot. Read your claim check!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrfuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“The BEST Sea Food ANYWHERE!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Service, selection and food are the best I've ever had. This is a must experience for Utah residence's and visitors.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Street Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Market Street Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing