We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Japanese Sushi”
Review of Ichiban Sushi

Ichiban Sushi
Ranked #256 of 1,406 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Built in 1894 as a Lutheran Church, Ichiban Sushi has been housed in this historic building since 1996. Complete with original stained glass windows and choir loft tatami rooms, its understandable why everyone has dubbed our sushi as "heavenly". We proudly serve as Salt Lake's local favorite for sushi and japanese cuisine.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Almost Japanese Sushi”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I'm a "purist" when it comes to sushi. The taste of the rice, not bitter or sweet, the freshness of the fish, the way it's sliced, the size of the rice ball, etc. I prefer sushi sliced and served by a chef trained in Japan, or at least one trained by one who apprenticed in Japan. They do it right, unlike some of the other so-called sushi bars all over town. In my opinion Ichiban comes close to the ideal, although they do too many rolls for my taste. I like to sit at the long bar with one of the chefs making each individual order, followed by the next, from Hamachi (Yellowtail tuna) to Uni (Sea Urchin). Sushi should be eaten soon after leaving the chef's hand. If you're a novice, ask the chef what's fresh and try the cold sake on the dry side.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pietrotak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“My wife even liked it and she never wants to go out for sushi.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Every dish I had was fantastic. I know we are far inland but we are close to the airport. The last time we were there it was quite crowded but worth the wait. The atmosphere is pleasant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

First time at this restaurant. Sushi was the best I have ever had, prices were very reasonable. Waitstaff could have been better but I will go again for sure.

Helpful?
Thank hesklj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wish we could give it 6 stars!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited Ichiban several years ago and all our children remembered was that it was good and that it was in an old church. Very glad that they had something original to remember it by. They did not disappoint. Not sure what others are saying about quality. We were all blown away by the food. Very fresh and original. We commend the chefs for being so accommodating us with the changes to our sushi. Our only suggestion is have the server get to us once seated a little sooner. After being seated, we waited over 5 minutes before being given water and another 5 before ordering a drink. All was forgotten when we taisted our 1st app. Great job Ichiban, though we are only in town once a year, we will make this a tradition.

Helpful?
Thank G8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly Sushi in "Gods Country"”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Went to have a sunday night dinner with my wife and some family member as Xmas rolls around the corner. The food was excellent just as I recalled from a previous visit and the ambiance and decor of the restaurant is very cozy and modern at the same time. The service is friendly and efficient and the food is very good, The prices are very accessible considering the very good food and wonderful setting. Any sushi lover visiting Salt Lake City who wants a great meal at a reasonable price will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lightnlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Sushi also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Ichiban Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing