We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Sushi - Fantastic Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ichiban Sushi

Ichiban Sushi
Ranked #274 of 1,385 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Built in 1894 as a Lutheran Church, Ichiban Sushi has been housed in this historic building since 1996. Complete with original stained glass windows and choir loft tatami rooms, its understandable why everyone has dubbed our sushi as "heavenly". We proudly serve as Salt Lake's local favorite for sushi and japanese cuisine.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sushi - Fantastic Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Love Ichibans! Fantastic sushi at a great price. I always go on a Monday or Tuesday night for happy hour! Cozy atmosphere as the building use to be a church with sweet stained glass windows and loft seating. We go here often and are always satisfied. The Mars, Park City and Vegas rolls are the bomb!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eden, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty, but lousy sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We loved the surroundings, but the sushi was such a disappointment. Very fresh, but flavorless and blah.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenwriteslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Awesome Happy Hour Sushi Deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were very pleased to hit this restaurant during their happy hour as out-of-towners. The crab wontons were AMAZING and we shared the Dynamo, Las Vegas, and Jodie rolls. All were outstanding! The building is an old church, and made for an interesting surrounding. I would DEFINITELY revisit this restaurant if I'm in town again and would highly recommend it to any sushi lover. It was delicious and a great value!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shops4shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sushi at Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beautiful building with ample parking, Ichiban is a sight to see. The lofted roof and bright stained-glass windows of the previous church-building give a sense of grandeur to the restaurant that is almost off-putting, but definitely refreshing. The food is spot on, however. With a Happy Hour menu (Mon-Weds. in the evening), the price isn't too steep. Even the full menu is comparable to like establishments. The service is quick, with friendly staff and prompt delivery. You are definitely getting your money's worth: a nice evening in a lofty atmosphere that brings the coziness of the table along with your meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average sushi but price range is a little above”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

sashimi is over priced...
their specialty rolls are pretty delicious but still expensive... :S
i love the setting and the location... old church and a fish tank... kinda weird eating fish by fish tank :P

waitress took forever to get to our table and when she got there, i asked this is forever.. and she didn't take it very well but i guess she figured that was her fault... so she was very attentive in the next rounds

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamela161989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Sushi also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Ichiban Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing