We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I could eat here everyday I would!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Log Haven

Log Haven
Reserve with OpenTable
Log Haven is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,379 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 3800 South
Description: Log Haven, long synonymous with wildflowers, waterfalls and fine canyon dining, is located in a historic log mansion in the Wasatch National Forest, minutes from downtown Salt Lake City. Consistently honored with the most national and local awards in the industry: Best Utah Restaurant, Best Salt Lake Restaurant, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and the coveted Hall of Fame Award. “This is the highest honor we can give a restaurant in Utah. It means that besides having great food, terrific ambiance and passionate people, something magical has happened to make this restaurant so consistently excellent on all fronts that it thrives as an inspiration to everyone in the business.” -Salt Lake Magazine
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If I could eat here everyday I would!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has a special place in my heart because my now husband proposed to me here. It is right up the mountain with a river surrounding it, so very beautiful. We ate on the patio with a live pianist. It was a romantic evening and we had the most delicious dinner ever! I had the lobster tail and filet mignon it was to die for. Dessert was raspberry cheesecake balls which were excellent as well. Worth the price and it doesn't get much better than the patio there. I will definitely be returning to Log Haven it was a truly wonderful experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Briellestarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faith S, Manager at Log Haven, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your evening at Log Haven and we look forward to serving you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    62
    21
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great ambiance, poor food quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

You know you have a problem when you arrive at a business casual referenced restaurant and you are greeted by a young lady in a tank top with tights. We walked around the beautiful log home converted into a restaurant and the cool mountain air was wonderful. regretfully the food was not. All in all great presentation but very bland food. the Mushroom tofu soup had great potential but no spices or salt or pepper , they should have offered cracked pepper at the least. The Alpine nachos where the greasiest I have ever had. they use potato slices then add olive oil on top of a messy dish..Cesar salad was nothing more than lettuce with sprinkled parmesan cheese- the cheese was low quality. the steak were good and served hot, the lobster tail was not dry or overcooked.. The carrot salads where tastless..the crème Brule was very mild and lacked body- poorly done needed real vanilla. the coconut soufflé was excellent as was the goat cheese cake- that was well done. Service was excellent but the food was not worth it. I would not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faith S, Manager at Log Haven, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions of your visit to Log Haven. We are disappointed to read that you were not happy with your food as it is always our desire to satisfy our customers. The Alpine nachos you referenced are one of our most popular dishes and the truffle oil drizzled atop is a key part of the dish. The tofu mushroom soup is part of our 3-course Low Calorie menu and since it has no cream or butter, it can sometimes be perceived as less rich than other higher calories versions. We always use real vanilla in our creme brulee and all of our cheeses are local artisan. Regardless, we appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the entire staff of Log Haven so that we may continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A disappointing birthday meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just went to Log Haven with my husband and teenage kids for an expensive birthday dinner and was quite disappointed. My husband ordered one of the specials which was steak and lobster, and while the steak was fine, the lobster was stringy and translucent -- not fully cooked and yet tough. Our kids ordered pasta dishes and were unable to eat more than a bit of the noodles. I was asked to identify a couple of the items in their bowls and, even after tasting them, could not -- mainly because all was soaked in a too-heavy and spicy sauce and, other than texture, one thing tasted like the next -- fish, fowl, meat, vegetable, bacon? -- none of us could tell. I ordered halibut which would have been fine except it was covered in what I believe was a pickled radish that had gone bad and gave off a nauseating odor. Next to that was a log -- literally -- of spinach which seemed to have come from the freezer. Ice cold and flavorless. It was easy to decide to go elsewhere for dessert. Overall, though the location is incredibly beautiful and the building itself is warm and lovely, we were very disappointed not to receive the delicious food that we have had in prior visits to Log Haven. I truly hate to see what had been a reliably fine restaurant go downhill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pigfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The complete experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

As we drove the lonely snow bordered canyon road toward our late evening reservation we wondered if we were on the right track to the restaurant. Finally, it appeared, warmly lit and inviting. We were in for a marvelous experience. The menu was inventive, varied and tantalizing. The items we selected were tasty and well-presented. The service was good and the ambiance unique. It was expensive, but that wasn't a surprise.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
218 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had reservations in December in the evening. It was snowing quite hard so we went early to make sure we didn't get stuck on the way up there. We got there 1-1/2 hours before out reservation time and the staff accommodated us without any fuss, seating us within 15 minutes of arriving. The valet parking was very nice and the food was outstanding. The waitress was knowledgeable and efficient and the dessert she recommended was perfect. The atmosphere was cozy and warm with the snow falling outside our window. The only negative we had was that it was rather loud in the dining room, but it was full and is open and so it's just the way it is. We would go back here whenever we get back to Salt Lake City without hesitation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faith S, General Manager at Log Haven, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your winter experience with us. We hope to see you again during the summer on our outdoor patio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Haven also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Log Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing