We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's Something Happening Here....”
Review of Market Street Broiler - CLOSED

Market Street Broiler
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West Temple
Reviewed January 20, 2014

To be clear, this review is for the Broiler on 1300 East. We have been frequent diners for over 20 years and have had some very memorable and pleasant dining experiences. However, the last two visits have led us to conclude that the service and food quality is on a downward trajectory. Number one, our waiter seemed bored with us and made little eye contact trying very hard not to engage us in any way. I swear, he looked over us or around us and did not make any effort to be pleasant. His much more engaging treatment of the young hip couple behind us however made it apparent that we were just not hip enough to warrant his attention beyond asking what we wanted, bringing our food, and giving us the bill. Second, the quality of food has deteriorated from fresh and exciting to dull and average. Gone are the lemons wrapped with netting to prevent the seeds from landing in your food. The chowder costs $4.9 per bowl which is a good value if that's all you order, and the bread that is included with meals is still tasty sourdough. However, the sauce on the shrimp scampi appetizer had broken and it did not stand out in any way. The fried shrimp was unimpressive and the shrimp did not "pop" when bitten into. Third, we don't mind paying $60 for lunch and drinks if there is value there but we left feeling that for the price, the food and service should have been better. We have loved this place in days of yore, but it seems to be going downhill both service and food wise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank UtahShunpiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freshseafoodslc, Guest Relations Manager at Market Street Broiler, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your time and leaving your review. I'm terribly sorry to hear about your recent visit to the Broiler. We make every effort to educate our servers to put every guest at the top of their priority list, unfortunately this was not the case with your visit and I do apologize. As for the netted lemons, I also enjoyed them because I don't care for the seeds on my meal, unfortunately the decision was made to remove them. I hope that we may have another chance to show you the service you have grown to love over the last 20 years as a frequent diner member.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 73 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

The food was very, very good. Their fish is always prepared to bring a satisfaction. The presentation is great as is the atmosphere.

Thank Rlj1of6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freshseafoodslc, Guest Relations Manager at Market Street Broiler, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We used to go to Market Street Broiler a couple times a month when we lived in Salt Lake. We were never disappointed. We always got their clam chowder for our appetizer which is delicious and you cannot go wrong with it. We've also tried the crab stuffed mushrooms and calamari which were also very good. We've ordered several different entrees which were always excellent. My all time favorite entrees are the crab stuffed sole and the chilean sea bass with macadamia nuts, but you can't go wrong with anything at Market Street Broiler (SLC) or Market Street Grille (SLC or Cottonwood).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sharda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have eaten here plenty of times over the years and it just does not seem to be the great resturant of the past. The prices are expensive and the service is spotty. It is a bit difficult to navigate the stairs, so avoid it if you cannot navigate very well, as the restroom is on the first level. Perhaps okay for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donnaj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have been eating here since they opened with disposable utensils and dinnerware, probably back in the late 1970s. For many years every aspect of the restaurant improved and changed and finally they morphed into a fabulous seafood eatery by 1990 or so. For many years this place was high on our list of favorites, but in the past two years the quality has declined, the prices have skyrocketed, and the service level has diminished.

Our meals today were overly salted, and the service was terrible. It took a very long time for a server to even get to our table (they weren't crowded) and then she was obviously disappointed when we did not order any bill-padding beverages, appetizers, or desserts. The food was slow in coming, and the server returned but once to check on our satisfaction, and that even before we had a chance to take a single bite. The prices are still much above market for like items, and with everything being a la carte, the costs soar.

We noticed the menu now has some chicken items at prices far below the beef and seafood prices, so that seems to be a concession to those no longer wishing to order hyper-expensive meals for a simple night out. It is very disappointing that The Broiler is for us no longer the especially good restaurant it used to be. We'll take our money elsewhere where we don't feel so ripped.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank UTManAmI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Street Broiler also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing