We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rudest owner ever”

Atlantic Cafe & Market
Ranked #703 of 1,386 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rudest owner ever”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I did not choose to eat at this establishment as the owner was possibly the rudest person I have ever met. We arrived at 545 and parked in front of his establishment. He pulled up and rudely stated that if we did not have a freight pass he was going to call a tow truck even though open parking started at 600. He was belligerent and disrespectful to potential patrons. In the end he merely opened the door dropped a box off and then left. The epitome of what customer service has become. Very sad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margiek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Greek salad”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We discovered this during a walk downtown, and my husband really wanted a Greek salad. He was not disappointed. I had a gyro and small greek salad as well, and both were great! It was quiet as I think it was about closing time, and also there was a big football game at the University. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
148 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Monster panino”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I went for a stroll downtown Salt Lake during a long layover and stumbled upon this place. Monster prosciutto and salame panino with a side of surprisingly good french fries. Very laid back atmosphere which is in total contrast with US.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vini00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Needs to obtain a tavern license”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We used to love this place, but the last few times we've been have been below average. First if we ordered chai or coffee, sometimes we'd get a small cup and sometimes we'd get a pretty large cup but they only offer one size on the menu and we were charged the same price both times. The other thing is we went in late one night after eating and my friend ordered a glass of wine. The waiter came back after they had started drinking the wine and informed us that we had to order food because of Utah laws. So we'd already eaten and now we were looking at spending another $4-5 on something. Neither of us were hungry but ended up ordering a dessert which turned out to be very 'blah.' So we go to a place after 11pm at night for a simple drink and chat and are forced to buy something we don't want to and that turns out to be something we don't want to eat. How embarrassing! Can you guys please get a tavern license or something. Why stay open so late if people are almost forced to buy something to eat? Our visit was ruined just because you guys won't take the extra step and apply for a tavern license!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eat here, you will enjoy.”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We first ate at the Atlantic five years ago and were delighted with the service and fare. We eat at the atlantic at least every month or so and they are consistently friendly and the food is always flavorful, well presented and prepared well. We have not been disappointed, ever.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Cafe & Market also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Atlantic Cafe & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing