We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth the trip”
Review of Bambara

Bambara
Reserve with OpenTable
Bambara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,390 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 200 South
Transit: TRAX stop on Main Street Between 200-300 South UTA Bus Stop on 200 South at Main Street
Description: Bambara: A Salt Lake City Restaurant Celebrating Past and Present With a tempting New American Bistro menu featuring a "World of Flavors" and a playful sense of whimsy and style, Bambara is one of downtown Salt Lake City's liveliest restaurants. Housed in the historic Continental Bank lobby, Bambara Salt Lake City expertly melds a sense of tradition with a very contemporary energy, at once colorful and elegant. Located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, our nationally recognized, award-winning restaurant has attracted a devoted following that expands daily.
Eagle Mountain, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always worth the trip”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We are always happy with our dining experience at Bambara and Saturday was no exception. Every employee is friendly and helpful and we were pleased that our waiter was Mike. He always has great recommendations and we never feel rushed. We both enjoyed the corn bisque. The beef tenderloin is fantastic! I only wish we lived closer to downtown SLC so that we could make it in for weekday lunches more often.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandidean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    110
    44
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A most wonderful experience...”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A wonderful dining experience...especially after the previous night at Market Street. Like others I was somewhat suspicious of a restaurant in the hotel thing but WOW. Reservation through open table; was greeted and seated promptly and our waiter Mike, was fantastic.


Mike set a great pace so we could enjoy each course, made thoughtful recommendations and ensured we had a great dinner. We enjoyed every bite and plan to return again soon.


The restaurant has some pub style tables off the left of the entrance that look to be almost like Chef tables...you could watch their whole kitchen operation from there if you wanted and I think it would make a good place to be seated. The whole place has a open airy feeling with just the right of noise and movement to make it feel alive but not over whelming and as others have mentioned this is a top place to dine in SLC!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank redrover62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
330 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Could be #1 in Salt Lake”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Bambara deserves its top 10 status on tripadvisor. Well-rounded quality dining experience with charming atmosphere in downtown location. Located in the quirky Hotel Monaco, Bambara is not to be missed. Incredible service - celebrated my husband's birthday here. They made it special with "Happy Birthday" printed at top of our menus. Decor is hip and upbeat with friendly and helpful servers. The staff works in tandem, very team-oriented. Meal was excellent pace. All courses were substantial enough on their own. I could have been satisfied with an entree - I ordered Utah trout which came with delicious brussel sprouts, pancetta, and mashed potatoes. But the salads and corn bisque are not to be missed. Wine menu ranges from $8 glass and up with plenty of choice of reds/whites or cocktails. Did not have room for dessert. This place easily beats up the current top 5 in Salt Lake City. Be sure to get reservations on the weekends (dinner) - it fills up. If you are looking for a staycation to get away from it all, pair a dinner with a night at Hotel Monaco. We felt like we had gotten away even though we did not have to take a flight or long car ride.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamtravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A ture treasure in Salt Lake City”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am always skeptical about any restaurant located within a hotel for good reason but Bambara foils my theory! Superb! The 3 of us thoroughly enjoyed the blue cheese chips, crab stuffed peppers, PEI mussels, beet salad, trout, Potato Gnocchi, chicken and the brussel sprouts!! This place is a MUST when visiting SLC! Great job Chef! We will be back!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Budda428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best little place in Salt Lake”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I love this restaurant so much. I don't know if they still do it...but they used to serve a chocolate torte with spicy chilli sauce on it....absolutely perfect.

The wine list is stellar, the food offerings are unique and tasty, and the service is perfect. Definitely try Bambara. While you're at it...you might as well stay at the Monaco...it's the best hotel in town as far as I'm concerned.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambara also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Bambara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing