We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Cannella's

Cannella's
Reserve with OpenTable
Cannella's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #152 of 1,386 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

For the price I don't know if you can do much better. The daily specials are a steal. The service was great too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank arnonaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cheerful and well-kept, with dependably flavorful meals”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

In the summer, Cannella's has three distinctive sections, each with it's own micro-atmosphere. There is a patio in front of the building, with several umbrella tables. Inside, there is a dimly lit area with a bar, booths and a few tables, which is sort of reminiscent of "Cheers". On the other side of a brick wall is a brighter room with tables, with chalkboards announcing specials and a coffee list. All three areas offer good and familiar Italian cuisine. Special dishes and drinks rotate weekly. I ordered the Tuscan Chicken last night and my husband had the Clam Linguini, both of which were delicious. A fresh dinner salad with pickled beet, beans and shredded cheese is included with entrees. Wines by the glass are ample and the selection, though limited, is well-chosen. The dessert list looks scrumptious but we are rarely hungry enough at the end of a meal to indulge.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahMacDillon_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum. Standard, but solid goodness”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Comfy atmosphere, nice staff, good consistent meals. We used to love their veal, but they removed it at some point. Good wine, nice salads. Good neighborhood feel.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Utahns_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good dinner”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I had a business dinner here, and the convenience to the courthouse made it a very good choice. I had a very good caesar salad to start and we enjoyed a good bruschette appetizer. The service was good, the food prompt. They served dinner with a tasty, fresh baked bread.
I had the lasagna, which I enjoyed. It was a little different than the norm. My guests enjoyed the ravioli and chicken parmesan, although the latter was a little bit overcooked.
The food is not inexpensive, but is in line with what you would expect for a downtown in a larger city.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
262 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great family dinner”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

It has been about 5 years since I last ate at cannellas. We went because we were downtown for the arts festival and wanted a great meal in a cool place. I was there with my wife and two kids (9 & 10). We all enjoyed our meals. My son had the kids cheese pizza (a little misnomer since it is a 12" pizza). He said it was the best he had eaten. My daughter ordered the madonna pizza which was tomato and basil. My wife had the Italian salad. I had the meatball sub with a dinner salad. Both were excellent. I really liked the blue cheese vinegrette that was on the salad. My kids both asked to go back.

Helpful?
Thank leojtracnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannella's also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Cannella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing