We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Diner”

Coachman's Dinner & Pancake House
Ranked #182 of 1,390 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Diner”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We ate breakfast in this diner on a weekday. The food was fresh and delicious. The waitress had a great sense of humor and provided excellent service. The decor is outdated, but gives it charm. The crepes were delicious and a very large portion as was the breakfast my companion had. The pancakes are delicious too! I would recommend this place to all my friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    27
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Waitress Ashley was a true Professional, make sure to ask for her.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our breakfast was okay, but the service was " On the Money " Nice local joint. the stuffed crepes were too thick and way to sweet. The Eggs Benedict that my wife had, she said was soooo good. The kids loved the pancakes. And the hash browns were cooked very well. Ashley was quick to refill everything, She was " on point", so thanks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Eclectic atmosphere, delicious food made from scratch and LOTS of it!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Walking into this place felt like walking into the late 60s. It has a train wreck decoration scheme. It's a little chaotic, but it grew on me, especially when the food began to arrive...

The food seemed like it might be from the 60's too...in the sense that it was simple and made from scratch. Everything, from the huge bowl of soup with warm rolls to the real mashed potatoes with mushroom (fresh!) gravy, was very tasty. The menu had lots of options and the prices were great (a bowl of soup, salad, a large roll, entree with side vegetable, dessert and a drink for less than $10.00). It was like going to my grandmas house for dinner, except I got to order exactly what I wanted. The service was good too. Our waitress was very friendly and checked on us frequently.

The only things to keep in mind here:

1) bring cash or checkbook, because they don't accept credit cards (but they do have an ATM)
2) bring your appetite and forget about your diet, the food is not diet conscious and the servings are large (you could easily split and still be stuffed)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place around. Good quality food. Couldn't find it better anywhere else.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We were there for a family gathering July 14 with 20 or more of us. Our food was the best. Very delicious and up to par. The service was the best we could have asked for. We will go again for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
224 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lots of food”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast with my family here. I ordered the Denver omelette . I didn't realize that it would include 2 big pancakes and some of the best country potatoes I've ever had. The kids meals were big and fed them plenty. $35 for our family of 5 and there was still food on the table. Great!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeepers_Mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coachman's Dinner & Pancake House also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Coachman's Dinner & Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing