We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super flavors; great value; fun place”

Tsunami Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Ranked #94 of 1,437 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Forest Dale
Cross street: 1100 East
Description: Tsunami offers diners exquisite Japanese-inspired cuisine in an exciting, contemporary setting. From the freshest sushi to amazingly tender baby back ribs, Tsunami's menu offers choices for the most discriminating palate. Whether you're in for a quick business lunch or out for a romantic dinner, the friendly, knowledgeable staff will provide a memorable dining experience. Voted Best Sushi, Best Power Lunch, and Best Upscale Casual Dining in Utah!
Reviewed May 15, 2016

Four of us went to Tsunami Sugarhouse on Sunday evening. The place wasn't crowded, yet there were enough diners make it a fun atmosphere. We had a variety of rolls -- TIger, Aloha, one with habanero sauce, and two others off the specials menu. They were all delicious. The flavored sakes (hot) were an interesting switch on a sushi staple. The service from Kelsey was also excellent, and I'd gladly return the next time I'm in town.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

As always great food and great service
We go for lunch about once a month
It is always so good
They have a great selection of Saki too

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank 853NancyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 20, 2016

The food here is fresh and excellent. The rolls and Sashimi are very fresh and appetizing. The box meals here are also excellent though I would go with rolls if you want a bit more to eat. I don't think you could go wrong no matter what you select. The service and atmosphere are very nice. The dining room and restrooms are very clean, nicely set up and more upscale than many sushi restaurants. The parking here is terrible so be warned about that issue but the food is really great.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jilldF479HL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 28, 2016

Fresh taste, beautifully presented, the rice is perfectly cooked and just the right texture. Everything blended together perfectly. After a couple of their specialty rolls which were excellent, we decided to get a plate of their vegetarian tempura it was light ,crispy and delicious. They even have a terrific homemade tasting desserts. We had the chocolate truffle cheesecake.
The service is great -very professional. we wound up sitting at the sushi bar and our sushi's chef, Caitlin was friendly& efficient. It's always enjoyable to dine in a place where the employees take pride in their work.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ABroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 10, 2016 via mobile

I ordered sashimi which was of good quality but it was expensive, especially the uni. The chef was great and made up an excellent roll, I think it was calledThe Executive.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank NediHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Tsunami Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Tsunami Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.