We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Glory”
Review of Lugano Restaurant - CLOSED

Lugano Restaurant
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Faded Glory”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have dined at Lugano many times over a number of years and always enjoyed it, But now, particularly on the last two visits, I've noted a decline in standards. The foods remains fairly good but seems to lack the care of the past and has become inconsistent. The furnature and carpet have become worn. The place could use a paint job. The level of cleanliness is not up to the past. Service staff appears less well trained and indifferent, providing slow service, even when the restaurant is not busy. Kitchen staff, who are seen now and then, are carelessly dressed and groomed. There are better choices; we will probably not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deano50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    6
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The service was horrible had to ask the waiter for assistance on two occasions. The meal was average at best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pporter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, especially the appetizers. Great with our large group.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had about 20 in our group and the service staff was great and very attentive to our needs. I had a customer with us that has traveled the world and is actually of Italian descent and he said it was one of the best Italian restaurants he has been to. Not sure I would have gone that far.
I had the salmon and asked that it be cooked all the way through. It came out a little overcooked and burnt. Many people got the lamb chop and LOVED it.
Parking is a little tricky.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moustacio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great service, food is better than many places, the ambiance is nice. The clam starter is unique and really tasty. The chef is flexible, and was willing to modify a dish for us. We have been here many times. On busy nights the restaurant can be a little noisy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrible service, mediocre food”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was so disappointed in Lugano. Maybe my expectations were too high after hearing great reviews from various websites. We had a group of 10 people. To start, the restaurant was out of every drink our group tried to order from the menu. Yes, from the beer, to the various bottles of wine, to tequila. Nada. This was on a Saturday night. Seriously, if you are going to have a printed beverage menu you ought to have the items in stock or make it clear that you are out. The other downside to this was the waitress brought alternative bottles of wine that ended up being a lot more expensive than what was ordered, and she charged the higher price. Her excuse was that the owner was out of town and wasn’t able to go to the liquor store to restock their supply. Honestly, no one wants to hear that.
We ordered a variety of food and it was hit and miss. I had the special of the night which was l vegetarian ravioli. It was good. My husband had the ribeye which was grossly over cooked and tough. The waitress did not check on our table at all to see if the food was good or up to par. I could see if she was running around like crazy, but the restaurant was quite empty.
Lastly when our bill came the waitress would not split it for us. We were seated as five distinct couples. It would have been very easy. She told us we would have to figure it out ourselves. Now, if our bill is close to $500, my expectation is that you do what you need to do to take care of your guests.
I do not recommend Lugano. It is overpriced, the service is terrible, the food is so-so and the ambiance is not anything memorable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lolatravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lugano Restaurant also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing