We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicioso!”
Review of Valter's Osteria

Valter's Osteria
Ranked #1 of 1,406 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I had a special meal created by Valter, and it was special indeed! This is one of the upper echelon restaurants. The tasting menu included such delicacies as veal carpaccio with duck eggs, mushroom assortment with quail eggs, black and white truflles from Umbria, and chocolate souffle with grand marnier. Fantastico!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank epicure5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    91
    35
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great for a celebration”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Excellent, fresh, diverse dishes - the handmade raviolis are a must. Service was attentive but unobtrusive and we enjoyed a leisurely dinner without being hurried.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank echolaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Truly divine birthday dinner”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

For a special meal out in downtown Salt Lake, it is hard to beat Valter's for authentic Italian. With an impressive menu and wine list, there is a dish for every palate. Highlights included the bread basket, salad made table side, and gnocchi. The fresh butternut squash ravioli was delicious. Service was attentive when we first arrived and then the restaurant got very busy (on a Tuesday night).There were long pauses between courses. It would be helpful if the server took our order right away to get it started. It was nice to have the food not rush out all at once (like many Salt Lake restaurants), but the long pauses extended the dinner beyond the parking allowance which resulted in rushing out to add more time. Maybe the server could check in with diners to determine preferred pace - a little slow for us. The hot chocolate was heavenly. The only other concern was the set-up of tables - booths with couples right next to you (similar to Vinto's). Would be nice to have stand-alone tables in a larger space, but maybe when they open their next location that will be a possibility? Valter is clearly a lesson in customer service. Was the perfect was to celebrate a birthday in a couples-oriented environment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamtravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I ate here because of the reviews, and was very disappointed. The service was slow, I found the food bland, the restaurant felt crowded and stuffy

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Juli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Some how it didn't do anything for us. I'm not sure whether we just expected too much based upon the rave reviews we had read.

The service was good, we were neither ignored nor smothered. The whole evening was OK but it was nothing special and certainly not exceptional.

Neither of us could identify what it was but dining there certainly did not blow us away and for +$180.00 I do want to at least feel as though I've had a good time.

Overall, comparing cost / satisfaction, it was a real disappointment for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rattle-pap-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valter's Osteria also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Valter's Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing