We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Churrascaria”
Review of Texas de Brazil

Texas de Brazil
Reserve with OpenTable
Texas de Brazil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 1,386 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Texas de Brazil is carving out a whole new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American "Churrascaria" or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas.Treat yourself to our 50-60 item seasonal salad area including appetizers, gourmet vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As you dine endlessly on Brazilian fare, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink, steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance and service perfection that is uniquely Texas de Brazil.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
462 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Churrascaria”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Texas de Brazil is consistently one of the best churrascarias in the US. The service was excellent, the caipirinha top shelf, and the meat and sides were perfect. It isn't the cheapest Brazilian steakhouse in the US, but it is worth a few dollars extra. They also have coupons available from time to time online.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    47
    18
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
151 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED ~ CALCULATING SERVICE ~ AVERAGE FOOD”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Located in Salt Lake City's NEW City Creek Mall the ambiance of this restaurant is above average.
The service is above average ~ the service people are never more than a few feet away. The "coin flip" is a good idea ~ only if the servers acknowledge the flip! Let me explain the flip ~ if you want to be served with more food turn the card to green ~ pass me up this time turn the card to red. It's simple. The salad bar is average ~ the lobster bisque (without the lobster) is very good. Why not put a few bits of lobster in the bisque?? The waiter suggested putting cheese in the bisque to replace the missing lobster.
The meats all were highly seasoned & somewhat tasty. Portions were very small, mostly thin slices of the selections.
My problem was the quick shuffle with "serve them fast & fill them up faster"! The over sugared strawberry lemonade will indeed fill you fast! Pass on the lemonade & just enjoy the H20 with your meal. I maybe an old fashioned diner > I like to enjoy each course with time for conversation at the table. The idea of being barraged with food & then the check was a little overwhelming! I found the entire experience very calculated in favor of the establishment. Value > sorry, but I also felt that the value wasn't there ~ I honestly felt that the price per person was an overcharged meal. If you like overeating this place is for you! If you like a well digested meal & not a cattle call I can suggest other restaurants in City Creek Mall that will satisfy your pallet & your wallet. Another "hint" of what is going on at any restaurant is if it's empty at dinner time something is perhaps wrong with the establishment?
I have my credit card receipt to validate my visit & aforementioned review.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buzltyr837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcap56
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Meat is good, rest not so much”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Some of the meat selections were quite good. They also take great care to cook the meat to your liking if you didn't like the temperature they serve at. They offer you as much as you like and don't hesitate to bring you anything you want or need. However, compared to other, similar restaurants I have been to, the salad bar was not as good as we had hoped. We did not order drinks or dessert which when combined with the buffet can lead to a high bill. Both the drinks and the desserts were pushed very strongly and we were made to feel a little guilty for not ordering any - we just didn't want them that evening. If you are hungry, are focused on the meat, and order drinks, I don't think you will be disappointed. If you are looking for a moderate experience, perhaps consider saving this for another evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mcap56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pricey but absolutely a wonderful treat for Mother's Day!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great any day. My family took me for Mother's Day and we had completely different meal than anywhere else. The meats are an unending variety. They bring them one at a time to the table. Even the lamb was good. Try it; try all the meats but just take a little because there are lots to try. The salad bar was wonderful with cold wild-caught salmon ( the whole fish). The dessert was delicious. If you go here, plan to be there awhile and for heavens sake, go hungry! This was just so fun because it was so different. A wonderful memory from Salt Lake City!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysideup70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food very reasonable price”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've eaten there several times and always enjoy my meal. It's a great value for the money and a place I wil return to time after time. If you go, make certain to try their lobster bisque...it's yummy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas de Brazil also viewed

 

Been to Texas de Brazil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing