We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update and better pillows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs an update and better pillows”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I was dissapointed with this hotel. I was booked here by Delta when my flight connection at SLC didn't make it. The hotel shuttle service was great (runs every 20 minutes!), and I was glad to get to my room quickly. Also, the staff were very personable.

But that was where my positive experience ended. The room had a kind of musty smell like it had once been a smoking room, or maybe because of the cleaners that were used. The carpets were old and had some permanent stains on them. The furniture was old and worn. The bed (I was in a room with two doubles) wasn't very comfortable, and the pillows were terrible (too big, and not comfortable for your neck). The shower was cold for about 10 minutes until it finally warmed up to a tolerable level (still not 'hot' though). I found a broken lanyard on the ground in plain sight, which told me that the cleaners didn't have time to give a thorough look around the room. I also found a big hair in the shower.

All in all, it probably wasn't the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, but I wouldn't reccomend it, given the price point that the Red Lion generally tries to play in the market.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davedyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmundel, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear davedyk,

We are so sorry that the room accomodations that you experienced were less then desirable. I do appreciate the favorable comments to start off your reveiw so thank you for pointing out the good things as well.

We have been adding some cosmetic things to the hotel this month (November 2010) so much of our hotel has improved even in the short time frame from your comments. It has been a busy Summer and many of your comments remind me that there is a lot of work to do to as we strive to improve the comfort and cleanliness of our hotel through the slower winter season. I will ensure you that we will take your comments to heart and work to improve the items you listed.

We hope you will consider us again if your travels take you to Salt Lake City. We would love to show you our new rooms and have you walk away with a great impression of what Red Lion Hotels are striving to be.

We appreciate your business and comments very much, take care and safe travels.

Mark Mundel
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    236
    184
    136
    130
See reviews for
145
208
64
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was our third stay at the hotel. Although we didn't eat at the restaurant we had the free shuttle to the airport and back which was nice. When we arrived we stayed on the 9th floor, room was clean, bathroom was clean but it would be nice if the TV was a modern flatscreen. The reception was fuzzy but son rattled the cords in back and it worked fine. Long walk to downtown but free tram was 1 1/2 block away and we were able to use Hotel shuttle when we asked. Even though shuttle was free we spent $30 in tips so were reluctant about using it all the time. Overall experience was good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmundel, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear Dalbinder,

Thank you very much for your positive response to staying with us last week. We appreciate the positive feed back. Regarding the fuzzy TV's, I am glad to inform you that we will be receiving new flat screen TV's at the end of October so we are very excited about that.

We hope you will be able to visit Salt Lake soon and allow Red Lion Hotels to serve you again! Take care and safe travels!

Mark Mundel
General Manager
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I came there with the tour group. Service is good: they have free shuttle bus to airport and temple squre, a small pool, breakfast buffet. Just only a little expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baiyayue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmundel, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear Baiyayue,

Thank you for choosing Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake City when you visited Salt Lake last week. I appreciate the positive feed back you gave and was very excited to see that you would recomment this hotel to others when they visit. I am glad that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service while visiting us. We really work hard to take care of all guest requests for shuttle service and I am glad were able to accommodate your needs.

I might suggest going to REDLION.COM for the lowest rates available. We gaurantee the lowest rates on this our websites to take a look and we hope to see you in the near future!

Take Care and Safe Travels!

Mark Mundel
General Manager
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2010

very attentive staff.
hotel is a little dated but they make up for it in their service. I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannieleflores123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmundel, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear Dannieleflores123,

Thanks for your comment on Trip Advisor about your last stay with us. Even though your comments were brief, we appreciate your time and recommending this hotel! We hope we can be of service to you in the near future!

Take care and safe travels!

Mark Mundel
General Manager
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My wife and I checked in and went out for dinner, drinks, and dancing. When we returned to the hotel, we turned out the dim lamp and went straight to bed.

I awakened the next morning to see a dark spot on my pillow under my face. I lifted my head and realized it was blood.

I then woke my wife up and asked if I have blood on my face. She said “no”, I further looked in the mirror and nothing. We then pulled our blankets off of the bed to find more blood spots on her side of the bed and at the foot of the bed... in fact we found 3 bloody spots on the sheets and one on my pillow.

I called the front desk to advise them and they sent the manager of housekeeping to our room. By the time she arrived to our room, I had checked under our bed and there was someone’s underwear along with a bunch of crumbs or something beneath our bed. It was obvious our room had not been cleaned.
The housecleaning manager apologized profusely and said she would send someone immediately to clean our room and change out sheets. We didn’t want to hang out in the room and relax, like we had intended, while it was being cleaned so we left for a couple hours. When we returned, the room appeared clean and the sheets and pillow cases had been changed but when we looked under the bed, the men’s underwear were still there and under the bed was still filthy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmundel, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Dear Williamx,

I am so glad that I had the opportunity to talk to you on the phone and resolve the issues you had with your stay. As I stated when we spoke, I am so sorry for the challenges you experienced and I have followed up with with all the departments and personell involved to make sure we learn from this experience and not have it happen down the road.

I am excited that you were willing to come back to our hotel to celebrate your upcoming anniversary! We will be ready to serve you upon your arrival and work hard to make up for the challenges you experienced last time.

We appreciate your comments, your business and the openeness you have showed to us in allowing us to make things right.

Sincerely,

Mark Mundel
General Manager
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

OXFORD UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Stayed here as part of a tour group. Whilst on tour most of the accomodations were fine this property was very surprising, beautiful room with a balcony where the windows opened( when you are a smoker this is so much appriciated) beds were very comfortable and the decor was lovely. Went to the sky bar for a cocktail with my elderly mother and the girls that served our drinks were so very polite and very helpful in helping us chose a drink.l We ate in the coffee shop? downstairs and again the service was so very friendly and the food was good. Would i stay again...oh yes. Would i recommend...definately! Oh and also used the pool. Was so nice after a day travelling in the heat to have a swim.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyluck788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Nice location, clean room, VERY friendly and helpfull staff. Little things here and there are showing signs of age - but if that doesn't bother you then this is pleasant stay while in Salt Lake City. Only complaint is that the entrance to the sky bar was very noisy at night (till 2 am) with drunk patrons coming in and out and some hanging out in the parking lot. Very convenient shuttle service to/from airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeOfTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmundel, General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Dear LifeOfTrip,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay with us. It sounds like it was a good stay with us and we appreciate you leaving the feedback.

I am sorry about the inconvenience of the noise at the SkyBar entrance. I will pass along this comment to our security team and instruct them to keep a better eye on loud patrons coming or leaving the hotel through this entrance.

We hope we get the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Again, your comments are very much appreciated and did not go unnoticed!

Take Care,

Mark Mundel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#22 of 75 in Salt Lake City
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#50 of 75 in Salt Lake City
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Property: Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing